Foods to Avoid Being a Celiac

  • Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)
  • Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types)
  • Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Atta Flour
  • Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
  • Barley Hordeum vulgare
  • Barley Malt
  • Beer (most contain barley or wheat)
  • Bleached Flour
  • Bran
  • Bread Flour
  • Brewer’s Yeast
  • Brown Flour
  • Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
  • Bulgur Wheat
  • Cereal Binding
  • Chilton
  • Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum)
  • Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Cookie Crumbs
  • Cookie Dough
  • Cookie Dough Pieces
  • Couscous
  • Criped Rice
  • Dinkle (Spelt)
  • Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate
  • Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
  • Edible Coatings
  • Edible Films
  • Edible Starch
  • Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
  • Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)
  • Enriched Bleached Flour
  • Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour
  • Enriched Flour
  • Farina
  • Farina Graham
  • Farro
  • Filler
  • Flour (normally this is wheat)
  • Fu (dried wheat gluten)
  • Germ
  • Graham Flour
  • Granary Flour
  • Groats (barley, wheat)
  • Hard Wheat
  • Heeng
  • Hing
  • Hordeum Vulgare Extract
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
  • Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Kamut (Pasta wheat)
  • Kecap Manis (Soy Sauce)
  • Ketjap Manis (Soy Sauce)
  • Kluski Pasta
  • Maida (Indian wheat flour)
  • Malt
  • Malted Barley Flour
  • Malted Milk
  • Malt Extract
  • Malt Syrup
  • Malt Flavoring
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Matza
  • Matzah
  • Matzo
  • Matzo Semolina
  • Meringue
  • Meripro 711
  • Mir
  • Nishasta
  • Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum)
  • Orzo Pasta
  • Pasta
  • Pearl Barley
  • Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum)
  • Perungayam
  • Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)
  • Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum)
  • Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
  • Roux
  • Rusk
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Semolina Triticum
  • Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Small Spelt
  • Spirits (Specific Types)
  • Spelt (Triticum spelta)
  • Sprouted Wheat or Barley
  • Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • Strong Flour
  • Suet in Packets
  • Tabbouleh
  • Tabouli
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii)
  • Triticale X triticosecale
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
  • Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil
  • Udon (wheat noodles)
  • Unbleached Flour
  • Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
  • Vital Wheat Gluten
  • Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
  • Wheat amino acids
  • Wheat Bran Extract
  • Wheat, Bulgur
  • Wheat Durum Triticum
  • Wheat Germ Extract
  • Wheat Germ Glycerides
  • Wheat Germ Oil
  • Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed
  • Wheat Protein
  • Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
  • Wheat Nuts
  • Wheat Protein
  • Wheat Triticum aestivum
  • Wheat Triticum Monococcum
  • Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
  • Whole-Meal Flour
  • Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)
  • Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)

The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

  • Artificial Color4
  • Baking Powder4
  • Caramel Color1, 3
  • Caramel Flavoring1, 3
  • Clarifying Agents4
  • Coloring4
  • Dextrins1,7
  • Dextrimaltose1,7
  • Dry Roasted Nuts4
  • Emulsifiers4
  • enzymes4
  • Fat Replacer4
  • Flavoring6
  • Food Starch1, 4
  • Food Starch Modified1, 4
  • Glucose Syrup4
  • Gravy Cubes4
  • Ground Spices4
  • HPP4
  • HVP4
  • Hydrolyzed Plant Protein4
  • Hydrolyzed Protein4
  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein4
  • Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate4
  • Hydroxypropylated Starch4
  • Maltose4
  • Miso4
  • Mixed Tocopherols4
  • Modified Food Starch1, 4
  • Modified Starch1, 4
  • Natural Flavoring6
  • Natural Flavors6
  • Natural Juices4
  • Non-dairy Creamer4
  • Pregelatinized Starch4
  • Protein Hydrolysates4
  • Seafood Analogs4
  • Seasonings4
  • Sirimi4
  • Smoke Flavoring4
  • Soba Noodles4
  • Soy Sauce4
  • Soy Sauce Solids4
  • Sphingolipids4
  • Stabilizers4
  • Starch1, 4
  • Stock Cubes4
  • Suet4
  • Tocopherols4
  • Vegetable Broth4
  • Vegetable Gum4
  • Vegetable Protein4
  • Vegetable Starch4
  • Vitamins4
  • Wheat Starch5

1) If this ingredient is made in North America it is likely to be gluten-free.

3) The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

4) Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient.

5) Most celiac organizations in the USA and Canada do not believe that wheat starch is safe for celiacs. In Europe, however, Codex Alimentarius Quality wheat starch is considered acceptable in the celiac diet by most doctors and celiac organizations. This is a higher quality of wheat starch than is generally available in the USA or Canada.

6) According to 21 C.F.R. S 101,22(a)(3): [t]he terns natural flavor or natural flavoring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof. Whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional.

7) Dextrin is an incompletely hydrolyzed starch. It is prepared by dry heating corn, waxy maize, waxy milo, potato, arrowroot, WHEAT, rice, tapioca, or sago starches, or by dry heating the starches after: (1) Treatment with safe and suitable alkalis, acids, or pH control agents and (2) drying the acid or alkali treated starch. (1) Therefore, unless you know the source, you must avoid dextrin.

May 1997 Sprue-Nik News.
(1) Federal Register (4-1-96 Edition) 21CFR Ch.1, Section 184.12277.
(2) Federal Register (4-1-96) 21 CFR. Ch.1, Section 184.1444

Original:Celiac.com

Looking For Gluten Free DIET Meal Plans?

A gluten free diet meal plan is restrictive. But it is not at all depriving. Rather, it is enriching, nourishing and perfectly healthy. There is tons of gluten free food available. Not all foods have gluten as you would have thought.

It is advised that you don’t go purely by the gluten-free tag on food labels. Just gluten free is not enough. It should be devoid of too many calories, and bad cholesterol. There are so many packaged junk foods that advertise as being gluten free, but are a haven of calories.

Some processed food products that are gluten free lack fiber. When you eat such foods you don’t feel full at any point of time. Your digestive system is not made to work hard. You end up eating more food and in the process gain more weight.

Frequently asked questions about gluten free diet plans

Is gluten a bad word?

No. But if you have celiac disease, or any other form of gluten intolerance, or a type of allergy to wheat, you are advised to stay off gluten. Some people experienced breathing irregularities and even developed skin rashes because of gluten. This clearly indicates that such people had severe allergic reactions to gluten.

Why is this negative perception of gluten so profound?

When a substance is avoided in foods, and foods advertise as being free of it, people tend to perceive that this substance is bad for health. Wheat contains gluten. And gluten is a type of protein. So when you eat wheat, you are actually consuming some gluten. Some people can’t digest gluten, so they have problems with it. And hence they look for foods that do not have gluten.

How difficult is it living without gluten

If you are a person who enjoys cooking, living without gluten may not be a big deal. It becomes an effortless task combining various ingredients to achieve a gluten free diet. Although it could be challenging at first, you get used to it. The more you cook food in a conscious effort to make it gluten free, the more well-versed you are as to which ingredients have gluten and which don’t have it.

What are the substitutes of gluten?

If you can’t live without that ‘’starchy’’ taste, there are plenty of substitutes for gluten. You can find gluten free pasta made by several manufacturers. This pasta combines various ingredients. Some of them are soy, brown rice, and corn. Some manufacturers use potatoes and quinoa in their pasta products. You can get pastas that combine all the aforementioned ingredients.

For the bread-loving, there’s always gluten free bed. This type of bread did not taste great in the recent past. But manufacturers took consumer feedback seriously. Nowadays gluten free bread is soft, delicious, and comes in various manifestations.

Even though the prices are high, it is worth it. If you can make it on your own, it is a better option. You can make gluten free bread in your home at a low cost.

Tips to stay gluten free

If all this seems very complicated to you, a simple tip can help. Just avoid wheat, barley and rye. Now think of all the foods that use wheat, barley and rye. Avoid such foods too. Obviously you would have figured it out by now. Breads, pastas, and certain types of cookies have gluten in them. Yes, understandably, it could be difficult for you to avoid them completely. But there’s good news. There are tastier breads, pastas, and cookies available that are totally free of gluten!

The main problem with being gluten free is that you cannot be completely gluten free. Gluten does hide behind food labels as manufacturers may not care to disclose them. And some foods do have traces of gluten. So you can’t avoid it completely.

For instance, any product that contains starch will also have traces of gluten. If you eat a candy that uses natural flavors, do you think it is still gluten free? So the first set of tasks for you before you embark on a gluten free diet plan is to identify which foods contain gluten.

Manufacturers are not bound by disclosure laws

The gluten free diet plan wave is rising every day. Almost every department or home store has gluten free products lining its shelves. There are all types of gluten free products. You won’t have a dearth of gluten free product varieties.

Interestingly, manufacturers need not disclose gluten as part of their foods on the package labels. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has no law that governs this. Meaning, manufacturers can use gluten in their products and not tell you about it.

Many manufacturers explicitly state their products to be gluten free. They display a ‘’gluten-free’’ label on their product packages. This enables customers to easily identify their products.

There are certain well-known manufacturers that disclose information about their products on their food labels. In fact, they have standard company policies that entail them to disclose such information. You can constantly buy foods from these select manufacturers. This way you will stay safe from gluten. You can easily trust such manufacturers.

Starting the gluten free diet plan

Meal Plan

Initially, eating gluten free foods may seem intimidating. But you can avoid the rigmarole of choosing gluten free products by sticking to natural foods such as fruits, vegetables, poultry and fish. When you are out shopping, choose non-packaged fruits and vegetables if possible. When you buy meat such as pork, beef, or seafood don’t buy meat that has additives. Some meat products use marinades on them. Don’t buy such meat products. Stick to plain meat.

You can begin with whole foods initially. You then progress to using grain products that do not have gluten in them. You can also order foods from the local supermarket. They are delivered to your doorstep. Prefer fresh produce. Give secondary preference to packaged foods.

You need to give your body some time to get used to the diet. Once you feel you are ok, you can branch out to other gluten free diet plans.

Is gluten free, actually healthier?

In the recent years, there has been increasing emphasis on gluten free diet for general improvement of health. The proponents of the gluten free diet say that this diet helps you to lose weight, make your digestive system work more efficiently which helps in overall improvement of your health. However, before you decide to switch to a gluten free diet, there are a number of things to consider.

Bear in mind that gluten is one of the most common substances found in food. If you are committed to giving up gluten, you will have to sacrifice a number of your favorite foods. This will not be worthwhile if you do not get significant benefit from the diet. So, you need to truly understand how much a gluten free diet is a fad or whether it actually has some health benefits.

The characteristics of a gluten free diet

Before analyzing the health benefits of gluten free diet, it is necessary to understand what a gluten free diet is. The characteristics are as follows:

  • Gluten is a type of protein found in most cereals. Wheat, flour, oats etc naturally contain gluten. Hence, their products like spaghetti, pasta, biscuits, cookies etc also contain a high amount of gluten.
  • Gluten makes the bread chewy and stretchy. It helps it to rise.
  • Apart from these carbohydrates, gluten is used an as additive in many foods because it can act as a thickening agent. So, it is used in sauces, mustard, puddings, desserts, ice creams and many more.

If you are going to adopt a completely gluten free diet, here are the things that you can include in your menu:

  • Non wheat cereals like rice, millets, quinoa, amaranth etc.
  • All fresh fruits and vegetables.
  • All lean protein provided they are not breaded or accompanied by curry.
  • All legumes, nuts and berries.
  • Recently launched gluten free alternatives like gluten free breads or gluten free ice creams.

As you see from the above list, in order to follow a gluten free diet, you will have to make considerable changes in your dietary habits. The change must start with a change in the shopping pattern itself. So, before you take such a drastic step, you should find out whether the health benefits of gluten make it worthwhile to completely change your food habits.

The health benefits of a gluten free diet

The health benefits of a gluten free diet vary in different situations. These are:

  • If you are allergic or intolerant to gluten, a gluten free diet is going to improve your quality of life in a significant way. For this, in order to be on the safe side, you should not eat any food which contains even a very small proportion of gluten. You should also avoid as much as possible gluten free substitutes like gluten free breads, pasta or ice cream. If you switch to foods which naturally contain no gluten, you will find that all the symptoms of illness which were appearing in your body would gradually disappear.
  • Headaches, tiredness and fatigue, nausea and vomiting etc will be reduced.
  • Your digestive system will be able to function with greater efficiency. Hence, problems of bloating, gas, acid reflux, constipation, diarrhea and fatty stool will be reduced.
  • Eliminating gluten implies eliminating refined and processed foods because these contain gluten. This dietary change will help your body to obtain more nutrition and less useless calories. So, you can see a definite and quite marked change in your weight. According to the observations of a noted dietitian, you can lose between 15 and 20 pounds of weight in the first month if you truly follow a gluten free diet.
  • For people with celiac disease, gluten free diet is the only option. Celiac disease is an immunity related condition where the body cannot absorb the necessary nutrients. When celiac adopt a gluten free diet, a definite health benefit is observed and the severity of the symptoms of the celiac disease begins to recede.
  • What about people who do not have celiac disease or any symptoms of gluten allergy? Can a gluten free diet be beneficial for them? It is seen that even for non celiac, if you have neurological problems or autoimmune disorders like joint pain, loss of balance, brain fog etc, it is seen that a gluten free diet helps to reduce the severity of the symptoms and the discomfort. However, no well documented medical study has been conducted about this.
  • If you are suffering from ailments like rheumatoid arthritis, seizures, multiple sclerosis, neuromylosis. Ataxia, anemia, diabetes, Down’s syndrome, Parkinson’s etc, a gluten free diet will help to keep the symptoms under control.
  • Finally, what about the absolutely fit person who is free from any ailment? If you are such a person, you need to know whether a gluten free diet will help you maintain your health. There is probably no direct benefit that you will get if you eliminate all gluten from your diet. However, since the foods containing gluten also often contain lots of sugar, calories, preservatives and additive, doing without them is bound to improve your natural health.

So, is gluten free, actually healthier?

From the different viewpoints sited above, it can be concluded that gluten free is definitely healthier for people who suffer from gluten intolerance, gluten allergy and celiac disease. In these people, a gluten free diet helps in better absorption of nutrients and helps to maintain better health.

In case of fit individuals who do not suffer from any gluten related disorders, the impact of a gluten free diet is much more difficult to identify. Since gluten rich foods are also rich in calories, eliminating them naturally remove the calories and you are bound to maintain a healthy weight.

However, this benefit will be completely nullified if you load up on gluten free fat rich substitutes. So, it is not simply going gluten free but eating sensibly at the same time which will prove healthier in the long run.

 

What Alcohol Can I Drink Now That I Am Gluten-Free?

Gluten Free AlcoholNow that you are gluten free, you don’t have to cut out alcohol. Being gluten free means you are excluding gluten – a starchy protein, from your diet. Gluten is found in wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten has many applications. It is used as a thickening agent. Many cosmetic brands have this substance in their constitution. Confectionery products use gluten to enable them to add artificial coloring and preservatives.

There are many types of alcohol that you can drink when you are on a gluten free diet. But yes, you have to stay away from beers that have been manufactured using barley. There are many rye whiskey brands that you ought to avoid. Male beverages are a complete no-no.

Alcohols that advertise as distilled spirits may contain gluten. Ensure you read the fine print before committing yourself to drinking such distilled spirits.

Hard liquor which is gluten free

Gin, rum, and tequila have a distillation process that completely filters out gluten. This process is followed in the preparation of vodka too. So it can be conclusively said that these types of hard liquors are completely devoid of gluten.

If you love Scotch whiskey, you can continue to love it. Because Scotch does not have gluten. Bourbon lovers need not worry as well. This type of liquor has no traces of gluten.

Other Confirmed Gluten-Free Spirits

  • Brandy
  • Khalua Coffee Liquer
  • Campari
  • Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
  • Old Deadly Cider
  • Champagne
  • Vermouth
  • Cointreau
  • Grappa
  • Midori
  • Prosecco
  • Cognac
  • Sambuca

Wine

When it comes to wine red or white, you don’t even need to go gluten free shopping for wine products. Most wines are gluten free. Champagne, the most popular of them all, is completely free of gluten. Let’s say you like Italian grappa wine. You could be thinking if this is gluten free or not. Yes, it is gluten free. And joyfully so!

Ok, ok you wine drinkers, you don’t get off completely scott free. Sometimes in the wine making process a manufacturer may use a flour or wheat paste as a seal for their oak barrels for the aging process. This process normally does not produce wine that contains 20 ppm, however when it comes to someone with a high intolerance to gluten, for instance Celiac Disease, this may be a problem. If you are at all concerned on whether this process is used, do not hesitate to call your favorite wine manufacturer to assure yourself.

 

gluten-free-beerBeer

Some beer products don’t use barley. They use rice, corn, and buckwheat instead. Some others use sorghum in their beer products in addition to having all the aforementioned ingredients. Beer product manufacturers do label their products as gluten free. And if a beer does not have this label, it is a strong indication that it is made of barley. Your safest bet would actually be to brew your own gluten-free beer. Here is a book with 75 recipes to make you own.

According to popular forums, here are some great tasting gluten-free beers:

view_more_button1

Brewery Beer Country Type Strength Volume (ml) Gluten
Allendale GFPA UK Pale 4.7% 500 NGCI
Ambar Ambar ES Lager
Ambar Ambar Green ES AF Codex
Anheuser-Busch Redbridge USA NGCI
Bard’s Tale Beer Co Bard’s USA Lager 4.6% NGCI
Brewdog Vagabond Pale Ale UK Pale 4.5% 330
Brunehaut Ambree / Daas Ambre BE Amber
Brunehaut Blanche / Daas Witte BE Blonde
Brunehaut Blonde / Daas Blonde BE Blonde
Brunehaut Triple BE
Carlsberg Saxon FI Lager
Estrella Damm Daura / Apta Para Celiacos ES Lager Codex
First Chop Brewing Ava UK Blonde 3.5% 500
First Chop Brewing Doc UK Pale 4.1% 500
First Chop Brewing Extra Love (Mango) UK Fruit 4.0% 500
First Chop Brewing FCB UK Pale 3.6% 500
First Chop Brewing Hop UK Pale
First Chop Brewing The Chop UK Amber 3.9% 500
Glebe Farm Night Mission / Pathfinder UK Ale
Glebe Farm Wellington Bomber Porter UK Dark
Green’s Amber UK Amber Codex
Green’s Blonde UK Blonde Codex
Green’s Dark Ale UK Dark Codex
Green’s Discovery UK NGCI
Green’s Dry Hopped Lager UK Lager Codex
Green’s India Pale Ale UK IPA Codex
Green’s Premium Pilsner UK Lager Codex
Green’s Supreme Golden Ale UK Ale Codex
Grisette Blonde BE Blonde
Hambleton Ales GFA UK Ale
Hambleton Ales GFL UK Lager
Hepworth Blonde UK 5.0% 500
Hepworth Iron Horse UK 4.8% 500
Hepworth Saxon Lager UK 4.0% 330
Hop Back Crop Circle UK Ale 4.2% 500
Kennet and Avon Savernake Stout UK Stout 5.3% 330
Liebharts Bio-Reis-Dunkel DE Dark NGCI
Liebharts Bio-Reis-Gold DE Lager NGCI
Mikkeller I Wish IPA DK IPA
Mongozo Buckwheat White BE White 4.8% 330 Codex
Mongozo Premium Pilsner BE Lager 5.0% 330 Codex
Monty’s Brewery Masquerade UK Bitter Codex
Neumarkter Lammsbrau Gluteinfrei DE Lager
Neumarkter Lammsbrau Gluteinfrei Alcoholfrei DE AF
Neuzeller Kloster-Brau Lebensfreunde DE 5.0%
New Planet Brewery Belgian Ale USA 5.3% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Blonde Ale USA 5.0% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Pale Ale USA 5.6% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Raspberry Ale USA Fruit 5.0% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Seclusion USA 4.9% Codex
New Planet Brewery Tread Lightly Ale USA 4.9% Codex
Ocha Reales Ale MX 5.0% 355 Codex
Poppyland Freshers Creek UK
Poppyland Poppyland Harvest UK Ale
Poppyland Rhino Rye IPA UK IPA
Poppyland Saison Alexanders UK
Poppyland Ten Thousand Geese UK Dark
Riedenburger Gluten frei DE Lager
Schnitzer Brau Hirse Pils DE Lager NGCI
Schnitzer Brau Hirse-Lemon Pils DE Lager NGCI
St Peters Dark G-Free UK Dark
St Peters G-Free UK Ale
Stadtbrauerei Spalt Bio Buchweizen DE NGCI
Steadfast Beer Co Sorghum Pale Ale USA Pale
Stringers Outlook Amber UK Codex
Stringers Outlook Dark UK Codex
Stringers Outlook Golden UK Codex
Tennent’s Gluten Free 1885 Lager UK Lager 5.0% 330
To Øl Mikropolis Pils DK Lager 7.0% 330
To Øl Reparationsbajer DK Pale 5.8% 330
Van Bulck GF Organic Lager BE Lager
Westerham Brewery Audit Ale UK Ale 6.2% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Bohemian Rhapsody UK Lager 5.0% 330 Codex
Westerham Brewery British Bulldog UK Bitter 5.5% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Double Stout UK Dark Codex
Westerham Brewery Hop Rocket IPA UK IPA Codex
Westerham Brewery Scotney Bitter UK Bitter 4.3% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Scotney Pale Ale UK Pale 4.0% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Viceroy IPA UK IPA 5.0% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery William Wilberforce Freedom Ale UK Ale 4.8% 500 Codex
Widmer Omission GF Lager USA Lager 4.6% 330
Widmer Omission GF Pale Ale USA Pale 5.8% 330
Wold Top Against the Grain UK Bitter 4.5% 500 Codex
Wold Top Marmalade Porter UK Dark 5.0% 500 Codex
Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA UK IPA 6.0% 500 Codex
Zatecky pivovar Celia Dark CZ Lager 5.7% 330
Zatecky pivovar Celia Pils CZ Lager 4.5% 330
Beer list updated on February 19, 2016

Did we miss any? Let us know in the comments.

Gluten-Free Alcoholic Mixed Drinks

  • Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders
  • Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix
  • Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
  • Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
  • Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix
  • Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut
  • TGI Friday’s Brand: On The Rocks, Margarita, Pina Colada, Long Island Ice Tea, Mudslide and Strawberry Daiquiri.
  • TGI Friday’s Club Cocktails including: Screwdriver, Gin Martini, Vodka Martini,Manhattan and Whiskey Sour mix.

Is distilled alcohol safe for people with celiac disease?

The general consensus on this is that people affected with celiac disease can drink distilled alcohol. Interestingly, they can drink alcohol that has been made using gluten grains! Distillation is a process that removes gluten molecules.

Recently, The National Institutes of Health’s Celiac Disease Awareness Campaign established this fact. As per this campaign, drinking distilled alcohol was safe for people affected with celiac disease.

Prolamins – protein molecules of gluten are distilled from hard liquor products. The distillation process nullifies these protein molecules from beers made of barley or whiskies made of rye.

But there are several other health watchdogs that do not agree with this fact. They feel that people who have high gluten intolerance should completely stay away from barley or rye based alcohol products. Instead, it has been recommended that people with celiac disease try potato-based liquor products. Many rum, vodka, and tequila product manufacturers use potato as the core ingredient in their alcohol products.

Tips to choose gluten free alcoholic beverages

Start by researching on beer product manufacturers that make gluten free beer products. They use alternatives such as corn and buckwheat to name a few. Don’t buy a product without reviewing the packaging details.

Join the Gluten Intolerance Group. Visit their website. You can find loads of information on gluten free restaurants, foods and beers. You may even visit their seminars to understand a lot of things about being gluten free.

Liquor manufacturers follow a rigorous distillation process that removes all traces of gluten peptides. Most distilled hard liquors are gluten free. However it is still not sure if some distilled whiskey brands are gluten free.

You have to understand if non-alcoholic mixes are gluten free as well. When you compliment your vodka with a non-alcoholic mix, you have to understand if this is gluten free. Check the labels on these mixes. See if you find a gluten free label on the packaging. Stick to non-alcoholic mixes that have traditionally been gluten free. Ask people around you to help you with more information.

Wine is totally gluten free, because the core constituent of wine is grapes. And grapes have no gluten in them. In some rare cases, wine can have gluten. This depends on where the wine manufacturers store the wine. If it was stored in a container that previously stored gluten-containing products, then the wine may pick up some gluten traces.

It is not possible to determine the type of containment process wine manufacturers have. But you can surely read about how they make, store, and distribute wine. Some wine manufacturers provide this information as part of the product literature.

Benefits of a gluten free lifestyle

Going gluten free is more than just a trend. You see so many celebrities going on a gluten free lifestyle, even if they don’t have celiac disease. The following are some of the benefits of a gluten free lifestyle.

You feel more energetic and feel better

Probably it’s just perception or a matter of subjective preference. Many people felt better after going gluten free. Could it because of the gluten free foods or the non-presence of gluten?

You cut out junk food

Some gluten free foods can be junk foods. But most gluten free foods can be organic as well. So by going the gluten free way you can eat more healthy food. You get a variety of gluten free foods that are nutritious.

You can still eat out

There are many fast food chains and restaurants that serve gluten free food. You can get information about such places to eat on the Internet. You may also contact your local telephone index to get more information. The Gluten Intolerance Group provides more information on such hotels and restaurants. Visit their website to know more.

Conclusion

Going gluten free does have its benefits. But not all gluten free foods and alcoholic beverages are good for health. For best results, consult a qualified nutritionist or a dietician to know more.

 

How do you know if it is truly gluten-free?

The problem of gluten intolerance is quite common and affects almost 15% of the population. People with celiac disease cannot tolerate any amount of gluten. As a result, there is a big demand for gluten free products. Even those who do not suffer from gluten allergy may opt for a gluten free diet. In all these cases, it is necessary to know which products is gluten free and how you can tell whether it is truly gluten free or not.

What is gluten and where is it found?

In order to identify the truly gluten free products, you should know what gluten is and where it can be found.

  • Gluten is a type of protein found in certain carbohydrates. It is that component which helps bread to rise and gives it a stretchy and chewy texture.
  • Wheat and wheat products like flour, breads, biscuits, bagels, donuts, cookies etc are high in gluten content.
  • Gluten is added to a wide variety of products. It acts as a thickening agent. So, it is present in gravy, pudding, desserts, ice creams etc.
  • You can also find gluten in beer because it is processed from wheat. Malt is high in gluten content.
  • Finally, small quantities of gluten can also be found in a vast number of drugs and cosmetics.

Going gluten free will not only help you to fight the symptoms of gluten intolerance like digestive disorders, fatigue, headache, depression etc, but will also help you to lose weight and lead a healthier life.

How to tell if it is gluten free?

If you have opted for a gluten free diet, your method of shopping needs to be completely revised so that you can follow some basic steps to determine whether something is truly gluten free or not. Whether you are a celiac or have chosen a gluten free diet because it is the healthier option, it is imperative that you be able to tell whether a product is truly gluten free or not.

Here are a few steps which you can follow to determine if it is truly gluten free:

Your first task is to get a guidebook of gluten free products. A comprehensive guidebook will give you a detailed list of products and brands which are gluten free. This can be especially helpful when you are new to the diet. We recommend trying our gluten free soy sauce.

Subscribe to any one of the huge lists available over the internet where gluten free products are listed. If you are following such a list, the following points are to be kept in mind:

  • Before the list, the means and criteria used to determine the gluten levels should be clearly mentioned.
  • A reputable list keeps updating every few years. It should have a “last checked” criteria so that you can be sure.
  • Some online lists are available free of cost. Make sure it is reputable with regular rechecking done.
  • You may have to pay a subscription fee to obtain some lists. Here, you will need to evaluate the cost and the quality of the list.
  • In case of paid lists, try to obtain a sample first. See whether it is comprehensive enough and whether it includes brands from all around the country.
  • Become a dedicated label reader. In many cases, if the product is gluten free, it will be mentioned on the package. But there is no standard lettering. So, it may be written anywhere, either displayed boldly or buried in the ingredient list or in the information about the product. However, if you pick a gluten free label, make sure that the company is reputable and practices truth in labeling.
  • If nothing is mentioned about gluten, go through the list of ingredients. If it contains wheat, barley, rye or malt, you have to eliminate it from your shopping list.

If you cannot find any conclusive information regarding gluten on the package, you will need to contact the manufacturer and find out whether it is gluten free. This can be done in the following ways:

  • Access the website of the manufacturer. Read the description of the product or go through the FAQ section. If the product is gluten free, it will be mentioned here.
  • Trust an intelligent and articulate website.
  • You can email the manufacturer to ask about the gluten content of the product.
  • If you are actually shopping in the store, use your Smartphone to visit the website and find out about gluten before you buy the product.
  • Most products have a phone number of the manufacturer on the package. Ring them up and ask about gluten. You will be connected to the consumer relation department and they are generally used to handling gluten related queries.
  • If no phone number is given, then get the city and the state off the packet and contact information to get the number. Then make your phone call.
  • Finally, if an address is given, you can write a letter to the manufacturer stating your concerns about gluten.
  • One important concern regarding obtaining gluten free products is the question of cross contamination. The product itself may be gluten free, but it may have been manufactured in a shared facility in which a gluten containing product is also manufactured. In such cases, this product may end up containing small amount of gluten. Clarify this point when you contact the manufacturer. It is only an extremely efficient and responsible manufacture who can use a shared facility without any gluten cross contamination.

One important fact that you should know is that according to the FDA, if the product contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten, it can be considered gluten free. But if you are a celiac, you will feel the physical symptoms even from this small proportion of gluten. So, make sure that the product contains absolutely no gluten. For safety’s sake, you must also avoid all products where a possibility of cross contamination may exist.

What Does Gluten Free Actually Mean?

The Meaning of Gluten-Free

Gluten free means foods that do not have gluten. Commonly found in wheat, gluten is a type of protein. It is also found in barley and rye. Gluten is the ingredient that gives dough its elasticity. Some topical beauty treatments use gluten.

Gluten is used extensively as a food additive. Its property to thicken is beneficial in giving rigidity to highly fluid substances. Many types of confectionery use this protein as a flavoring agent.

Benefits of a Gluten-Free Diet

In the past decade, many people have switched over to a gluten free diet. They go all out to ensure that the food they eat does not contain gluten. You may see a lot of gluten-free packaged foods at grocery stores. Although many people prefer a gluten free diet, they really don’t understand the health benefits of a gluten free diet.

The Sudden Popularity of Gluten-Free Food

  • Recently many people have been diagnosed with celiac disease. These people have high sensitivity to gluten. It makes their condition worse. So a gluten free diet is prescribed by their doctors.
  • Additionally, many nutritionists feel that a gluten free diet has other benefits too. It has been linked to a marked decrease in cholesterol levels. It promotes optimum functioning of the digestive system. Food devoid of gluten is said to increase energy and efficiency levels, because gluten is said to produce lethargy and lower cognition levels.
  • Food researchers feel that avoiding gluten is avoiding certain types of food that use this substance. Which means that you are effectively avoiding unhealthy food. All the more reason to get healthy quickly.
  • Considering that fried foods, deserts, and confectionary use gluten, you will completely avoid them. And in the process experience better health levels.

Processed Foods Contain Gluten

  • Quite interestingly, it has been discovered that some famous processed foods manufacturers use gluten. This is an open secret. What was inconspicuous by its absence some time back is in the lime light now. People have begun consciously avoiding processed foods.
  • Processed foods may provide ready availability and easiness of consumption. But they are full of artificial flavoring and preservatives. And not to mention that they are high in gluten.
  • A gluten free diet entails you to eat non-processed food. This means you eat more of fruits and vegetables. You buy organic stuff more. You are always on the lookout for non-starchy types of foods.
  • A gluten free diet spares you of unhealthy oils. Some bread products may look inviting but they are harmful to the health. Why? Simply because they have unhealthy carbohydrates. A common instance of such a bread product is pastries. Even if they taste good, most pastries have unhealthy carbohydrates.
  • It is understood, accepted, and established throughout the medical field that a non-gluten diet is good for the heart. Certain cancers can be avoided by not using gluten. There is lower risk of diabetes for people who are off gluten forever.
  • A gluten free diet fortifies your immune system. You can fight off micro organic invaders with ease. Your body is stronger and with added resistance. This is achieved because as part of a gluten free diet you eat foods that are rich in antioxidants and vitamins. These are the essential ingredients that ward off infections.

Be Cautious with a Gluten-Free Diet

A gluten free diet can help you lose weight naturally and permanently. But you have to eat a balanced diet. You cannot expect to lose weight with only gluten free diets. If a gluten free diet is combined with other types of balanced meals, you can expect favorable results.

Be picky with your selection of vegetables and fruits. You need to do your research on which vegetables and fruits contain gluten and which do not. For instance potatoes are gluten free. And so is rice. Interestingly, pasta can be gluten free as well, as well as gluten free soy sauce in the mix. When you buy a pasta product check the ingredient list. You will most probably find no mention of gluten on the pack cover.

So what you need to be cautious about? Some manufacturers may hoodwink you by providing the wrong information o their packaging. Ingredient lists on food packages may not indicate the presence of gluten. But in reality these foods will have good quantities of gluten.  Don’t go for replacement products. Always choose branded products.

Foods That are Gluten-Free

Many grain varieties are gluten free. Potatoes, rice, and corn are considered to be excellent foods considering they have no traces of gluten. Beans such as soybean are an excellent source of protein. So you can use these beans as a source of protein in foods that are gluten free. Even nut flours can be used to enhance the protein content of your food without the presence of gluten in it.

Wheat flour should be completely avoided as it contains high concentrations of gluten. Almond flour can be used in lieu of wheat flour. Even buckwheat flour is in this league of wheat flour alternatives. If you explore more, you’d be surprised that there are many types of flours that are gluten free. For instance, gram flour does not contain any traces of gluten. And gram flour has many applications in the food space.

To be truly gluten free, just avoiding foods that contain gluten is not enough. Some over the counter medication may have gluten in them. Even some vitamin supplements have gluten in them. You are advised to refrain from using cosmetics that contain gluten. There are certain types of lipsticks that use a high concentration of gluten.

Before buying a lip balm product check if it contains gluten. Cosmetics generally display the presence or absence of this substance on their packaging covers. Certain face creams and lotions also contain gluten on account of gluten’s thickening properties.

Gluten comes in various forms, manifestations and combinations. Initially it could be tough staying away from it. But eventually you will learn where it can be found and where it cannot be found. And this is your way to begin a lifestyle that is gluten free.

Government Gluten-Free Regulations

  1. The product may not contain any of the following gluten proteins: wheat, tritical, kamut, barley, oats, rye or spelt.
  2. None of the ingredients may contain forms of proteins that have been modified or hydrolyzed from the above grains.
  3. The gluten-free product may not contain more than 20 ppm(parts per million). This is implemented due to the possibilities of cross contamination.
  4. It is good to note that the majority of companies take great care of their practices in manufacturing the gluten-free products in order to prevent as much cross contamination as possible.
  5. All ingredients used in the products that are from a gluten grain have been process in a way to remove the gluten protein which causes symptoms. Ingredients that are able to handle this process are wheat glucose syrup and wheat maltodextrin.
  6. A government recognized testing method has been used to determine if the gluten-free product is less than 20 ppm.
  7. Each product must be specifically designed and formulated to be eaten within a persons gluten-free diet in order to best represent their health.

Because of the last regulation many companies that have made gluten-free products will not have ‘gluten-free’ on their packages.

Do you have a gluten problem?

The problem of gluten intolerance, gluten allergy and celiac disease affects approximately 15% of the population of America. So, you may need to check out whether you actually have a gluten problem. Gluten is a type of protein most commonly found in certain cereals like wheat, rye and barley.

It is widely used as an additive in sauces, baked, canned and processed foods etc. Gluten is the element that makes bread stretchy and causes it to rise. Hence it is used in a vast variety of cakes, cookies as well as pasta, pizza etc.

The symptoms of gluten problem

You may have an allergic reaction to gluten or intolerance to it. In extreme cases, this gluten intolerance develops into celiac disease. This is an autoimmune condition where your digestive system fails to absorb the essential nutrients even if you ingest them. Gluten intolerance and allergy are more common. Whichever condition you have, you will need to properly identify this so that you can take appropriate steps.

Here are a few common symptoms which are seen to be associated with gluten intolerance and allergy:

  • One of the most common, yet most difficult to identify symptoms of gluten problems is fatigue. You will feel extremely tired – especially after eating foods that contain gluten. However, fatigue may be caused by a vast range of extraneous factors. So, just because you feel tired does not mean that you are intolerant of gluten.
  • Gluten intolerance is also suspected when there is sudden drastic change in weight – mostly weight loss. As your digestive system fails to absorb nutrients and process the gluten, you may experience consistent loss in weight.
  • A huge range of digestive disorders begin to manifest in persons with gluten intolerance. You will feel bloating, indigestion, gas and constipation. Heartburns become common. You may also experience diarrhea. These may lead to diverticulitis. Fat appears in stool as a result of incomplete or poor digestion. All these culminate in significant weight loss.
  • Related to the above are other symptoms like loss of appetite, nausea and vomiting. Mouth ulcers may develop or you may feel irritation in the throat or the mouth.
  • There are quite a few other symptoms which indicate gluten intolerance and allergy. Your skin may itch and break out in rashes as a reaction to gluten. Dizziness, fainting spells, difficulty in swallowing, deficiency of vitamins and minerals, hair loss etc are common.
  • Headaches become frequent and attacks of migraine increase in frequency. Chest pains may also occur.
  • Women may experience additional symptoms. The menstrual cycle may be disturbed and in some cases it may even lead to infertility. In pregnant women, gluten intolerance may affect the growth and development of the baby.
  • Diabetes is aggravated.
  • Bone density reduces.
  • A number of dental problems develop.
  • Osteoporosis and muscle disturbances increase in severity.
  • Lactose intolerance may be caused.
  • Gluten allergy also causes the manifestation or aggravation of a number of psychological and neurological disorders. These include schizophrenia, attention deficit disorder, anxiety and depression.

As seen from the list of symptoms stated above, these can be caused by a number of other factors in addition to gluten intolerance. So, it requires systematic investigation to determine exactly what is causing these symptoms and whether gluten intolerance may be a reason.

How to identify the symptoms of gluten intolerance?

Here are a few steps which you may follow in order to identify a condition of gluten intolerance:

  • Watch your digestive health. Poor digestion is the most common fallout of a gluten allergy. If you observe symptoms like indigestion, bloating, gas, constipation, heartburn etc, chances are you are developing a gluten problem.
  • Another common way to determine whether you have a gluten problem or not is to keep a close watch on your own energy levels after eating. If you have a gluten problem, your digestive system will spend a lot of energy fighting the effects of gluten. As a result, you will feel fatigued and lethargic immediately after your meal.
  • Mental disturbances like irritability or depression are heightened after a meal in gluten intolerant individuals.
  • Similarly, if you have a gluten problem, headaches may develop following a meal.
  • There are a number of long term effects which you can carefully track to determine whether you have a gluten problem or not. Change in weight is one such indicator. If you are experiencing consistent long term fluctuations in weight without having changed your diet in any significant way, then you probably have a gluten problem.
  • Similarly, gluten problem also causes long term changes in your mental health. Anxiety and depression and irritability may increase consistently.
  • If there is persistence of allergies, rashes and problems like eczema, gluten problem may be a contributing factor. So, check the health of your skin, teeth and hair. Any long term decline may be caused by gluten intolerance.
  • Women should take note of irregularity of menstrual cycle and whether a problem of infertility is developing.
  • Once you observe all these symptoms, you can begin an elimination diet. Just carefully avoid all gluten containing foods for seven days. If gluten intolerance is indeed your source of problem, then you will see a definite reduction in the symptoms after a gluten free diet for a week.
  • The final step to confirm whether you have a gluten problem or not is to carry out a simple diagnostic test. When you consult a doctor, he will first ask you to observe and record the symptoms. If you go to the doctor after you have already completed this step, a blood test will determine whether you have celiac disease. In order to determine a gluten allergy, a skin prick test is carried out.

If it is confirmed that you do have a gluten problem, your life is not over. Just a carefully constructed healthy diet without gluten can help you live a happy and healthy lifestyle.