MUST SEE! Scan Any Food, Anywhere to Determine If It’s Actually Gluten-Free

It can’t be easy having to dissect all your food, bugging every server, friend and relative, all in an effort to, like, not die.

That’s more or less what people with gluten sensitivities have to go through, but things might get a little easier with a new device that works as a portable food tester.

The device is called “Nima” and works by scanning a sample of your food for 2 minutes and determining if it’s gluten-free, or not.

That means if you question the gluten-free pizza at your local pizzeria, with a smile on its face, this little tool can ease your mind and tell you just how gluten-filled it is.

If your food doesn’t pass the test and doesn’t meet the FDA’s gluten-free standard, the Nima will light up with a frowny face.

It’s that easy.

Shireen Yates and Scott Sundvor are the ones pushing the gluten scanner through 6Sensor Labs and they’re planning a release in mid-2016, according to Upworthy.

They’re not stopping with gluten though. 6 Sensor Labs is working on Nima devices that can scan for other allergies such as peanut and dairy, hoping to debut them in 2017.

That means in a couple of years, you might be seeing these little guys scanning food all over the place, relieving stress from allergy-plagued eaters.

If you think this device is the answer to all your gluten-free problems, as of this writing, the pre-orders are going for $199.
Source: http://www.foodbeast.com/news/gluten-sensor-nima

Does organic mean gluten free?

Organic foods may not be gluten free, but gluten-free foods can definitely be organic. Do you know what organic foods are? These are foods that are grown naturally. This means they are not exposed to pesticides and fertilizers. Additionally, these foods are not exposed to additives, and industrial solvents. Traditionally, agricultural products were organic. The turn of the twentieth century brought about a transformation. Chemicals and fertilizers were used in the food business. But organic farming soon came into existence. Interestingly, organic farming came about as early as the 1940s. And it still continues in many parts of the world unabated. During the 1940s agriculture was heavily industrialized. Farmers concentrated on producing quick harvests. This lead to the invention of pesticides and fertilizers. But it also brought about the onset of organic farming as an agricultural specialty.

What is gluten?

Gluten does a lot like what its name suggests. It is used as a thickening agent. Being a sticky protein, gluten has many applications. This wheat protein is used in confectionery  bread, and other such related products. Gluten has so many applications that you’d be pleasantly surprised. For instance, many manufacturers use it as an anti-clumping substance when manufacturing spices. It is also used in cosmetics as a thickener. A lot many products have traces of gluten. It is difficult to completely list down all products that use high, moderate, low, and traces of gluten. A gluten free diet is primarily advised if you have celiac disease. When you are unable to digest gluten, you are said to suffer from celiac disease. Most people may not have a problem eating gluten rich foods. But some people do have this sensitivity to gluten. These people don’t just experience digestive problems. They experience brain fogging, memory loss, and depression. So it is a highly discomforting disease. And many manufacturers advertise their products as gluten free. Gluten free food can be organic, but not always There is a lot of misinformation about gluten free foods being organic. Gluten free means that there no traces of gluten. It does not necessarily mean these foods are organic. Well, they can be organic, but it is not mandatory for gluten-free foods to be so. Now this is where the misinformation lies. Many people assume that gluten free foods are organic. In other words, the quality of a food being gluten free automatically makes it organic. And this has lead to steady sales of gluten free products. All because rumors travel more than genuine information does. Another section of consumers think that a gluten free diet can help them lose weight. They feel that this type of food is good to maintain one’s body weight. There are so many gluten free foods that can increase weight rather than decreasing it. Some gluten free foods are rich in carbs, fats, and calories. Eating them regularly can actually make you gain weight in quick time. You will have a hard time losing this weight. Gluten free foods also use food additives and chemicals which are harmful. Unfortunately, many mainstream manufacturers use this as an opportunity to cash in on uninformed customers. They use the gluten free label to invite unsuspecting customers into buying their products. These customers are lead to believe that eating such foods is actually beneficial to their health in the long run. Another alarming trend is that manufacturers use this tag on foods that naturally have no traces of gluten. All this is done in an opportunistic manner. So what is the best way to deal with this? Customers are advised to gain as much knowledge on gluten free foods. Knowledge is power when it comes to choosing gluten free products.

A simple search on the Internet can help you understand which foods are rich in gluten and which foods are not. Additionally, you may read user reviews on popular food forums to understand which manufacturers resort to such unscrupulous tactics.

How much gluten is good for you?

  • People suffering from celiac disease must totally abstain from gluten. It has been researched that eating gluten can increase risks of osteoporosis, certain types of cancers, and cause infertility to people suffering from celiac disease.
  • No, there are no shortcuts for people affected with celiac disease. They ought to stay away and stay off gluten forever. This is a commitment they have to make. Understandably it is difficult. But there’s no other choice.
  • There are no general recommendations for people with gluten intolerance. There are no prescribed limits as well. The nature and intensity of the gluten intolerance varies by individual. But yes, there is a spectrum of gluten sensitivity that doctors refer to. The higher the sensitivity on the spectrum, the more chances of contracting celiac disease and vice versa.
  • Physicians feel that people who are on the lower end of the gluten sensitivity spectrum can eat healthy amounts of gluten. However it is yet to be established whether they could move up in the gluten sensitivity spectrum due to their eating habits.

Being gluten free doesn’t mean you are eating healthy

  • When you eat wheat, barley or rye, and feel a deep discomfiture, you may be having gluten intolerance. You have to get checked by a doctor immediately.
  • Before cutting off gluten from your diet, you should seek help from a good dietician. There are many foods that are gluten free, but are not healthy. They are high in fats, and calories. They use toppings, and additives that can do your health more harm than good.
  • You must know that there are plenty of foods that are a hidden source for gluten. Getting a collation of such foods is difficult. Only a qualified dietician or a nutrition scientist can help you with this. Gluten free food can be organic as well. At the same time, some gluten free foods can be nothing but junk food that you can do without.
  • Getting professional help is the right step forward. And you can see dramatic results in short time. Your world will be gluten and fat free. And you will be walking on the highway to healthy living.

What is soy sauce?

Soy sauce which is also popularly known as soya sauce, is a common condiment used widely in South and Southeast Asian cuisine. The sauce probably originated in China. Today, it is also widely used in western foods and in many prepared foods. The sauce is dark colored liquid and has a distinct salty taste.

The history of the sauce

Soy sauce is produced by fermentation of soy beans. The earliest history of the sauce is found in China between third and fifth century BC during which time this sauce was first prepared. Salt has always been an expensive commodity. In China, the soy beans were fermented and used with salt to cure fish which was then consumed as a condiment. Gradually, the fermented soy beans developed into soy sauce while the fermented fish developed into fish sauce.

During the colonial times, records are obtained which showed that soy sauce was exported from China and Japan. By the middle of nineteenth century, all soy sauce was being made in China. Europeans could not master the art of making soy sauce as they failed to comprehend the role of the fungi in the creation of the sauce.

Nutritional facts about soy sauce

According to the USDA, the nutritional facts of soy sauce are given as follows:

100 ml of soy sauce contains:

  • Calories : 60
  • Fat: 0.1 g
  • Carbohydrates: 5.57 g
  • Fibers: 0.8 g
  • Protein: 10.51 g
  • Sodium: 6 g

Most soy sauce contains a high quantity of salt which constitutes 14 to 18 percent of the sauce. Certain low salt varieties have become available in the market, but it is not possible to completely eliminate salt from soy sauce.

Types of soy sauce

Depending on the type of raw material used and stage and process of fermentation, a number of different types of soy sauce can be identified. Some of them are as follows:

Chinese soy sauce is made from soybeans and has little amount of other grains. It can be of two types:

  • Brewed – This type is formed directly by fermentation without adding anything else.
  • Light or fresh soy sauce is thin and opaque and widely used as seasoning.
  • Yaam Yau is made mostly in Taiwan and is created by mixing steamed soybeans with coarse rock salt which is then dry fermented for long period of time. It is used for dipping or for red cooking.
  • Blended – Sweet or other types of tastes are added.
  • Mushroom dark soy – where broth of mushroom is added into the sauce and then exposed to the sun
  • Thick soy sauce – when the sauce is thickened by addition of starch and sugar and MSG is sometimes added to flavor.
  • Shrimp soy sauce – where fresh soy sauce is simmered with fresh shrimp, spices and a special type of distilled liquor.

Japanese soy sauce – The sauce was brought to Japan from China by Buddhist monks. Wheat is the main ingredient. So, they are sweeter. There are five types:

  • Koikuchi contains equal amount of soybeans and wheat and is the most common type.
  • Usukuchi is lighter and sweeter as fermented rice is added to it.
  • Tamari – Darker and richer, it contains almost no wheat and is closest to the Chinese variety.
  • Shiro – It uses mostly wheat and little soy bean and has a sweeter and lighter taste.
  • Saishikomi – It is twice brewed and darker and richer.

Indonesian soy sauce includes different fermented sauces. There are three types:

  • Salty soy sauce is similar to Chinese but thicker and stronger.
  • Sweet soy sauce has treacle like flavor as palm sugar is added to it.
  • Medium sweet soy sauce has less sweetness than the sweet soy sauce and is a little more salty.

Apart from these, different flavors and varieties of soy sauce are found in Burma, Korea, Philippines, Hawaii, Vietnam and Malaysia.

Health benefits of soy sauce

According to several studies, soy sauce has a number of health benefits. Some of them are:

  • In a study conducted by Elam in 2000, it was found that soy sauce increases the level of HDL and lowers triglycerides thereby leading to better health of the heart.
  • Soy sauce is rich in anti oxidants.
  • It also contains manganese which helps in clotting of blood and formation of connective tissues.
  • Soy sauce contains high amount of an amino acid called tryptophan. This material is used in production of serotonin which helps you to fight depression.

Gluten-Free Foods That Make You Fat

Research indicates that eating gluten does make you fat. The lectins that are found in gluten are said to contribute to weight gain. The lectins inhibit the production of insulin. This is because they bind to insulin receptors.

Lectins can cause more havoc than you thought. They attach themselves to the internal linings of the intestine. This affects the way food is absorbed into the body. And you end up storing calories as fat instead of using them as energy.

Another serious consequence is lectin resistance. This makes you perennially hungry. Even after you have eaten a full blown meal, you’d want to eat more. Your hunger is insatiable. And you wonder what makes you hungry.

Lectins destroy the functioning of the gut. This produces inflammation at these regions. This condition affects the metabolism levels. All such factors increment your weight on a daily basis. And before you know it, you are already three fourth times heavier.

Certain types of foods that are rich in carbohydrates also contain gluten. These carbohydrates raise the sugar level in your blood stream. Your body produces more insulin. When your blood has more insulin, it stores carbohydrates as fat. And as you can note here, this is another way you can become heavier.

But what about gluten free foods that make you fat!!!

Gluten free does not mean that the food is without any fat. Some Gluten free foods have loads of calories in them. So if you don’t burn these calories off, it can make you fat or obese.

The following are a compilation of certain gluten free products or foods that can make you fat. However, this is purely based on your metabolic rate. Anything in excess causes adverse affects. If you eat too much or too less of anything, you may not get the appropriate results. So always eat moderately.

Gluten free cookies

Certain gluten free cookies might taste really good. They give you a feel-good feeling. The quality of them being gluten free is endearing. Ginger cookies are a rage amongst people of all ages. They taste different. You may prefer this taste over cookies made of potato, chocolate or nuts.

But you have to watch out. Even eating two to three cookies is like eating twenty chicken nuggets. So the next time you pick up a cookie product that uses ginger, read the ingredient list carefully.

Gluten free breads

Some bread brands use unnecessary additives such as eggs to help the bread get a unique taste. Another common topping used is canola oil. But these toppings only increase the fat content of loaves. So even if the bread is gluten free, it is not fat free.

And on top of that, if you were to use this bread as a sandwich, you might add your servings to make it taste better. These servings also increase the calorie count on the bread by several notches.

Watch out – bagels on the prowl

Bagels are a popular breakfast item. There are many manufacturers that make gluten free bagels. These calorie rich foods are good if you are someone who does two workouts per day. But if you don’t, be prepared to gain a lot of weight in quick time. In this situation, gluten won’t disturb you as much as your weight.

The only solution for this is to choose a bagel product that has moderate levels of calories. Yes, bagels can be processed and manufactured with lesser calories. Some manufacturers are doing it. And if they are gluten free, all the more better.

Gluten free desserts

Desserts are notorious for the fat content they have within. It really does not matter if a dessert product advertises itself as gluten free. Because you know that it’s a tougher decision to make based on the fat content present inside the product.

Some gluten free desserts have more fat than 5 hamburgers combined. That’s a lot of energy in one small helping of dessert. You better be ready to shed it off. Or you’ll be looking well-rounded in short time.

Research has indicated that if you were to eat two of such gluten free cakes or desserts every week, you can add up to ten pounds within a year. Now this is something that people who want to gain weight want to hear. Not for people who are looking to lose weight.

Granola snacks

These snacks are refreshing to eat, tasty and highly addictive. It can be used as a snack, brunch or breakfast food. But did you know that some granola snack brands use lots of honey and canola oil to spruce things up? Now that’s a lot of fat and sugar in one go.

You are definitely biting into fat and sugar. Be prepared to bulge up eating granola snacks. Or choose these products from good manufacturers because you may not only get gluten free products, but products that are low on fat and sugar as well.

Rice macaroni

You definitely like to unpack a frozen dinner and bring it to steam in short time. There are some rice macaroni products that do not have gluten, but have plenty of fats. You need to spice a rice macaroni dish with cheese. This means that you are inviting more fat into your diet.

Gluten free processed flours

Have you checked for the fat content in gluten free processed flours? If you know the percentage of fat in such flours you could be shocked. These flours have more fat content than wheat. So the benefit of being gluten free is overridden by the bad effects of not being fat free.

Planning your gluten free diet

So here’s the consensus. Going gluten free does not guarantee weight loss. It does not guarantee weight gain too. It does guarantee one thing – the food you eat is without any gluten content. So do not buy gluten free foods to lose weight. Not a bad idea to use Little Soya’s gluten free soy sauce for flavor in those flavorless meals. Because you may be surprised when you actually gain weight and this event might leave you disillusioned.

The secret to permanent weight loss and avoidance of gluten at the same time is planning your diet. Do a lot of research on what you will eat with a nutritionist.

 

Safe Foods For Gluten Free Celiacs

  • Acacia Gum
  • Acesulfame K
  • Acesulfame Potassium
  • Acetanisole
  • Acetophenone
  • Acorn Quercus
  • Adipic Acid
  • Adzuki Bean
  • Acacia Gum
  • Agar
  • Agave
  • Albumen
  • Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types) 
  • Alfalfa
  • Algae
  • Algin
  • Alginic Acid
  • Alginate
  • Alkalized Cocoa
  • Allicin
  • Almond Nut
  • Alpha-amylase
  • Alpha-lactalbumin
  • Aluminum
  • Amaranth
  • Ambergris
  • Ammonium Hydroxide
  • Ammonium Phosphate
  • Ammonium Sulphate
  • Amylose
  • Amylopectin
  • Annatto
  • Annatto Color
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Arabic Gum
  • Arrowroot
  • Artichokes
  • Artificial Butter Flavor
  • Artificial Flavoring
  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Aspartame (can cause IBS symptoms)
  • Aspartic Acid
  • Aspic
  • Astragalus Gummifer
  • Autolyzed Yeast Extract
  • Avena Sativia (Oats3)
    Avena Sativia Extract (from Oats3)
  • Avidin
  • Azodicarbonamide
  • Baking Soda
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Beeswax
  • Beans
  • Bean, Adzuki
  • Bean, Hyacinth
  • Bean, Lentil
  • Bean, Mung
  • Bean Romano (Chickpea)
  • Bean Tepary
  • Benzoic acid
  • Besan (Chickpea)
  • Beta Glucan (from Oats3)
  • Betaine
  • Beta Carotene
  • BHA
  • BHT
  • Bicarbonate of Soda
  • Biotin
  • Blue Cheese
  • Brown Sugar
  • Buckwheat
  • Butter (check additives)
  • Butylated Hydroxyanisole
  • Butyl Compounds
  • Calcium Acetate
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Calcium Caseinate
  • Calcium Chloride
  • Calcium Disodium
  • Calcium Hydroxide
  • Calcium Lactate
  • Calcium Pantothenate
  • Calcium Phosphate
  • Calcium Propionate
  • Calcium Silicate
  • Calcium Sorbate
  • Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate
  • Calcium Stearate
  • Calcium Sulfate
  • Calrose
  • Camphor
  • Cane Sugar
  • Cane Vinegar
  • Canola (Rapeseed)
  • Canola Oil (Rapeseed Oil)
  • Caprylic Acid
  • Carageenan Chondrus Crispus
  • Carbonated Water
  • Carboxymethyl Cellulose
  • Carmine
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Carob Bean
  • Carob Bean Gum
  • Carob Flour
  • Carrageenan
  • Casein
  • Cassava Manihot Esculenta
  • Castor Oil
  • Catalase
  • Cellulose1
  • Cellulose Ether
  • Cellulose Gum
  • Cetyl Alcohol
  • Cetyl Stearyl Alcohol
  • Champagne Vinegar
  • Channa (Chickpea)
  • Chana Flour (Chickpea Flour)
  • Cheeses – (most, but check ingredients)
  • Chestnuts
  • Chickpea
  • Chlorella
  • Chocolate Liquor
  • Choline Chloride
  • Chromium Citrate
  • Chymosin
  • Citric Acid
  • Citrus Red No. 2
  • Cochineal
  • Cocoa
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Coconut
  • Coconut Vinegar
  • collagen
  • Colloidal Silicon Dioxide
  • Confectioner’s Glaze
  • Copernicia Cerifera
  • Copper Sulphate
  • Corn
  • Corn Gluten
  • Corn Masa Flour
  • Corn Meal
  • Corn Flour
  • Corn Starch
  • Corn Sugar
  • Corn Sugar Vinegar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Corn Syrup Solids
  • Corn Swetener
  • Corn Vinegar
  • Corn Zein
  • Cortisone
  • Cotton Seed
  • Cotton Seed Oil
  • Cowitch
  • Cowpea
  • Cream of Tartar
  • Crospovidone
  • Curds
  • Cyanocobalamin
  • Cysteine, L
  • Dal (Lentils)
  • D-Alpha-tocopherol
  • Dasheen Flour (Taro)
  • Dates
  • D-Calcium Pantothenate
  • Delactosed Whey
  • Demineralized Whey
  • Desamidocollagen
  • Dextran
  • Dextrose
  • Diglycerides
  • Dioctyl Sodium
  • Dioctyl Sodium Solfosuccinate
  • Dipotassium Phosphate
  • Disodium Guanylate
  • Disodium Inosinate
  • Disodium Phosphate
  • Distilled Alcohols 
  • Distilled Vinegar 
  • Distilled White Vinegar 
  • Dutch Processed Cocoa
  • EDTA (Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid)
  • Eggs
  • Egg Yolks
  • Elastin
  • Ester Gum
  • Ethyl Alcohol
  • Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid
  • Ethyl Maltol
  • Ethyl Vanillin
  • Expeller Pressed Canola Oil
  • FD&C Blue No. 1 Dye
  • FD&C Blue No. 1 Lake
  • FD&C Blue No. 2 Dye
  • FD&C Blue No. 2 Lake
  • FD&C Green No. 3 Dye
  • FD&C Green No. 3 Lake
  • FD&C Red No. 3 Dye
  • FD&C Red No. 40 Dye
  • FD&C Red No. 40 Lake
  • FD&C Yellow No. 5 Dye
  • FD&C Yellow No. 6 Dye
  • FD&C Yellow No. 6 Lake
  • Ferric Orthophosphate
  • Ferrous Gluconate
  • Ferrous Fumerate
  • Ferrous Lactate
  • Ferrous Sulfate
  • Fish (fresh)
  • Flaked Rice
  • Flax
  • Folacin
  • Folate
  • Folic Acid-Folacin
  • Formaldehyde
  • Fructose
  • Fruit (including dried)
  • Fruit Vinegar
  • Fumaric Acid
  • Galactose
  • Garbanzo Beans
  • Gelatin
  • Glucoamylase
  • Gluconolactone
  • Glucose
  • Glucose Syrup
  • Glutamate (free)
  • Glutamic Acid
  • Glutamine (amino acid)
  • Glutinous Rice
  • Glutinous Rice Flour
  • Glycerides
  • Glycerin
  • Glycerol Monooleate
  • Glycol Monosterate
  • Glycol
  • Glycolic acid
  • Gram flour (chick peas)
  • Grape Skin Extract
  • Grits, Corn
  • Guar Gum
  • Gum Acacia
  • Gum Arabic
  • Gum Base
  • Gum Tragacanth
  • Hemp
  • Hemp Seeds
  • Herbs
  • Herb Vinegar
  • Hexanedioic Acid
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Hominy
  • Honey
  • Hops
  • Horseradish (Pure)
  • Hyacinth Bean
  • Hydrogen Peroxide
  • Hydrolyzed Caseinate
  • Hydrolyzed Meat Protein
  • Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
  • Hydroxypropyl Cellulose
  • Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose
  • Hypromellose
  • Illepe
  • Iodine
  • Inulin
  • Invert Sugar
  • Iron Ammonium Citrate
  • Isinglass
  • Isolated Soy Protein
  • Isomalt
  • Job’s Tears
  • Jowar (Sorghum)
  • Karaya Gum
  • Kasha (roasted buckwheat)
  • Keratin
  • K-Carmine Color
  • K-Gelatin
  • Koshihikari (rice)
  • Kudzu
  • Kudzu Root Starch
  • Lactalbumin Phosphate
  • Lactase
  • Lactic Acid
  • Lactitol
  • Lactose
  • Lactulose
  • Lanolin
  • Lard
  • L-cysteine
  • Lecithin
  • Lemon Grass
  • Lentils
  • Licorice
  • Licorice Extract
  • Lipase
  • L-leucine
  • L-lysine
  • L-methionine
  • Locust Bean Gum
  • L-tryptophan
  • Magnesium Carbonate
  • Magnesium Hydroxide
  • Magnesium Oxide
  • Maize
  • Maize Waxy
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltitol
  • Maltodextrin
  • Maltol
  • Manganese Sulfate
  • Manioc
  • Masa
  • Masa Flour
  • Masa Harina
  • Meat (fresh)
  • Medium Chain Triglycerides
  • Menhaden Oil
  • Methyl Cellulose2
  • Microcrystalline Cellulose
  • Micro-particulated Egg White Protein
  • Milk
  • Milk Protein Isolate
  • Millet
  • Milo (Sorghum)
  • Mineral Oil
  • Mineral Salts
  • Molybdenum Amino Acid Chelate
  • Monocalcium Phosphate
  • Monoglycerides
  • Mono and Diglycerides
  • Monopotassium Phosphate
  • monosaccharides
  • Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)
  • Monostearates
  • MSG
  • Mung Bean
  • Musk
  • Mustard Flour
  • Myristic Acid
  • Natural Smoke Flavor
  • Niacin-Niacinamide
  • Neotame
  • Niacin
  • Niacinamide
  • Nitrates
  • Nitrous Oxide
  • Non-fat Milk
  • Nuts (except wheat, rye & barley)
  • Nut, Acron
  • Nut, Almond
  • Oats3
  • Oils and Fats
  • Oleic Acid
  • Oleoresin
  • Olestra
  • Oleyl Alcohol/Oil
  • Orange B
  • Oryzanol
  • Palmitic Acid
  • Pantothenic Acid
  • Papain
  • Paprika
  • Paraffin
  • Partially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil
  • Patially Hydrogenated
  • Soybean Oil
  • Peas
  • Pea – Chick
  • Pea – Cow
  • Pea Flour
  • Pea Starch
  • Peanuts
  • Peanut Flour
  • Pectin
  • Pectinase
  • Peppermint Oil
  • Peppers
  • Pepsin
  • Peru Balsam
  • Petrolatum
  • PGPR (Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate)
  • Phenylalanine
  • Phosphoric Acid
  • Phosphoric Glycol
  • Pigeon Peas
  • Polenta
  • Polydextrose
  • Polyethylene Glycol
  • Polyglycerol
  • Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate (PGPR)
  • Polysorbates
  • Polysorbate 60
  • Polysorbate 80
  • Potassium Benzoate
  • Potassium Caseinate
  • Potassium Citrate
  • Potassium Iodide
  • Potassium Lactate
  • Potassium Matabisulphite
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Potatoes
  • Potato Flour
  • Potato Starch
  • Povidone
  • Prinus
  • Pristane
  • Propolis
  • Propylene Glycol
  • Propylene Glycol Monosterate
  • Propyl Gallate
  • Protease
  • Psyllium
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Quinoa
    Ragi
  • Raisin Vinegar
  • Rape 
  • Recaldent
  • Reduced Iron
  • Rennet
  • Rennet Casein
  • Resinous Glaze
  • reticulin
  • Riboflavin
  • Rice
  • Rice (Enriched)
  • Rice Flour
  • Rice Starch
  • Rice Syrup
  • Rice Vinegar
  • Ricinoleic Acid
  • Romano Bean (chickpea)
  • Rosematta
  • Rosin
  • Royal Jelly
  • Saccharin
  • Saffron
  • Sago
  • Sago Palm
  • Sago Flour
  • Sago Starch
  • Saifun (bean threads)
  • Salt
  • Seaweed
  • Seeds (except wheat, rye & barley)
  • Seed – Sesame
  • Seed – Sunflower
  • Shea
  • Sherry Vinegar
  • Silicon Dioxide
  • Soba (be sure its 100% buckwheat)
  • Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate
  • Sodium Acetate
  • Sodium Alginate
  • Sodium Ascorbate
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Sodium Caseinate
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Sodium Erythrobate
  • Sodium Hexametaphosphate
  • Sodium Lactate
  • Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
  • Sodium Metabisulphite
  • Sodium Nitrate
  • Sodium Phosphate
  • Sodium Polyphosphate
  • Sodium Silaco Aluminate
  • Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
  • Sodium Sulphite
  • Sodium Stannate
  • Sodium Tripolyphosphate
  • Sorbic Acid
  • Sorbitan Monostearate
  • Sorbitol-Mannitol (can cause IBS symptoms)
  • Sorghum
  • Sorghum Flour
  • Soy
  • Soybean
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Soy Protein
  • Soy Protein Isolate
  • Spices (pure)
  • Spirits (Specific Types)
  • Spirit Vinegar
  • Stearates
  • Stearamide
  • Stearamine
  • Stearic Acid
  • Stearyl Lactate
  • Stevia
  • Subflower Seed
  • Succotash (corn and beans)
  • Sucralose
  • Sucrose
  • Sulfosuccinate
  • Sulfites
  • Sulfur Dioxide
  • Sweet Chestnut Flour
  • Tagatose
  • Tallow
  • Tapioca
  • Tapioca Flour
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Tara Gum
  • Taro
  • Tarro
  • Tarrow Root
  • Tartaric Acid
  • Tartrazine
  • TBHQ is Tetra or Tributylhydroquinone
  • Tea
  • Tea-Tree Oil
  • Teff
  • Teff Flour
  • Tepary Bean
  • Textured Vegetable Protein
  • Thiamin Hydrochloride
  • Thiamine Mononitrate
  • Thiamine Hydrochloride
  • Titanium Dioxide
  • Tofu (Soy Curd)
  • Tolu Balsam
  • Torula Yeast
  • Tragacanth
  • Tragacanth Gum
  • Triacetin
  • Tricalcium Phosphate
  • Tri-Calcium Phosphate
  • Trypsin
  • Turmeric (Kurkuma)
  • TVP
  • Tyrosine
  • Urad/Urid Beans
  • Urad/Urid Dal (peas) Vegetables
  • Urad/Urid flour
  • Urd
  • Vinegar (All except Malt)
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Vanilla Flavoring
  • Vanillin
  • Vinegars (Specific Types)
  • Vitamin A (retinol)
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Vitamin B1
  • Vitamin B-12
  • Vitamin B2
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin D
  • Vitamin E Acetate
  • Waxy Maize
  • Whey
  • Whey Protein Concentrate
  • Whey Protein Isolate
  • White Vinegar
  • Wines
  • Wine Vinegars (& Balsamic)
  • Wild Rice
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Xylitol
  • Yam Flour
  • Yeast
  • Yogurt (plain, unflavored)
  • Zinc Oxide
  • Zinc Sulfate

1) Cellulose is a carbohydrate polymer of D-glucose. It is the structural material of plants, such as wood in trees. It contains no gluten protein.

2) Methyl cellulose is a chemically modified form of cellulose that makes a good substitute for gluten in rice-based breads, etc.

3) Recent research indicates that oats may be safe for people on gluten-free diets, although many people may also have an additional, unrelated intolerance to them. Cross contamination with wheat is also a factor that you need to consider before choosing to include oats in your diet.

What Alcohol Can I Drink Now That I Am Gluten-Free?

Gluten Free AlcoholNow that you are gluten free, you don’t have to cut out alcohol. Being gluten free means you are excluding gluten – a starchy protein, from your diet. Gluten is found in wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten has many applications. It is used as a thickening agent. Many cosmetic brands have this substance in their constitution. Confectionery products use gluten to enable them to add artificial coloring and preservatives.

There are many types of alcohol that you can drink when you are on a gluten free diet. But yes, you have to stay away from beers that have been manufactured using barley. There are many rye whiskey brands that you ought to avoid. Male beverages are a complete no-no.

Alcohols that advertise as distilled spirits may contain gluten. Ensure you read the fine print before committing yourself to drinking such distilled spirits.

Hard liquor which is gluten free

Gin, rum, and tequila have a distillation process that completely filters out gluten. This process is followed in the preparation of vodka too. So it can be conclusively said that these types of hard liquors are completely devoid of gluten.

If you love Scotch whiskey, you can continue to love it. Because Scotch does not have gluten. Bourbon lovers need not worry as well. This type of liquor has no traces of gluten.

Other Confirmed Gluten-Free Spirits

  • Brandy
  • Khalua Coffee Liquer
  • Campari
  • Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
  • Old Deadly Cider
  • Champagne
  • Vermouth
  • Cointreau
  • Grappa
  • Midori
  • Prosecco
  • Cognac
  • Sambuca

Wine

When it comes to wine red or white, you don’t even need to go gluten free shopping for wine products. Most wines are gluten free. Champagne, the most popular of them all, is completely free of gluten. Let’s say you like Italian grappa wine. You could be thinking if this is gluten free or not. Yes, it is gluten free. And joyfully so!

Ok, ok you wine drinkers, you don’t get off completely scott free. Sometimes in the wine making process a manufacturer may use a flour or wheat paste as a seal for their oak barrels for the aging process. This process normally does not produce wine that contains 20 ppm, however when it comes to someone with a high intolerance to gluten, for instance Celiac Disease, this may be a problem. If you are at all concerned on whether this process is used, do not hesitate to call your favorite wine manufacturer to assure yourself.

 

gluten-free-beerBeer

Some beer products don’t use barley. They use rice, corn, and buckwheat instead. Some others use sorghum in their beer products in addition to having all the aforementioned ingredients. Beer product manufacturers do label their products as gluten free. And if a beer does not have this label, it is a strong indication that it is made of barley. Your safest bet would actually be to brew your own gluten-free beer. Here is a book with 75 recipes to make you own.

According to popular forums, here are some great tasting gluten-free beers:

view_more_button1

Brewery Beer Country Type Strength Volume (ml) Gluten
Allendale GFPA UK Pale 4.7% 500 NGCI
Ambar Ambar ES Lager
Ambar Ambar Green ES AF Codex
Anheuser-Busch Redbridge USA NGCI
Bard’s Tale Beer Co Bard’s USA Lager 4.6% NGCI
Brewdog Vagabond Pale Ale UK Pale 4.5% 330
Brunehaut Ambree / Daas Ambre BE Amber
Brunehaut Blanche / Daas Witte BE Blonde
Brunehaut Blonde / Daas Blonde BE Blonde
Brunehaut Triple BE
Carlsberg Saxon FI Lager
Estrella Damm Daura / Apta Para Celiacos ES Lager Codex
First Chop Brewing Ava UK Blonde 3.5% 500
First Chop Brewing Doc UK Pale 4.1% 500
First Chop Brewing Extra Love (Mango) UK Fruit 4.0% 500
First Chop Brewing FCB UK Pale 3.6% 500
First Chop Brewing Hop UK Pale
First Chop Brewing The Chop UK Amber 3.9% 500
Glebe Farm Night Mission / Pathfinder UK Ale
Glebe Farm Wellington Bomber Porter UK Dark
Green’s Amber UK Amber Codex
Green’s Blonde UK Blonde Codex
Green’s Dark Ale UK Dark Codex
Green’s Discovery UK NGCI
Green’s Dry Hopped Lager UK Lager Codex
Green’s India Pale Ale UK IPA Codex
Green’s Premium Pilsner UK Lager Codex
Green’s Supreme Golden Ale UK Ale Codex
Grisette Blonde BE Blonde
Hambleton Ales GFA UK Ale
Hambleton Ales GFL UK Lager
Hepworth Blonde UK 5.0% 500
Hepworth Iron Horse UK 4.8% 500
Hepworth Saxon Lager UK 4.0% 330
Hop Back Crop Circle UK Ale 4.2% 500
Kennet and Avon Savernake Stout UK Stout 5.3% 330
Liebharts Bio-Reis-Dunkel DE Dark NGCI
Liebharts Bio-Reis-Gold DE Lager NGCI
Mikkeller I Wish IPA DK IPA
Mongozo Buckwheat White BE White 4.8% 330 Codex
Mongozo Premium Pilsner BE Lager 5.0% 330 Codex
Monty’s Brewery Masquerade UK Bitter Codex
Neumarkter Lammsbrau Gluteinfrei DE Lager
Neumarkter Lammsbrau Gluteinfrei Alcoholfrei DE AF
Neuzeller Kloster-Brau Lebensfreunde DE 5.0%
New Planet Brewery Belgian Ale USA 5.3% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Blonde Ale USA 5.0% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Pale Ale USA 5.6% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Raspberry Ale USA Fruit 5.0% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Seclusion USA 4.9% Codex
New Planet Brewery Tread Lightly Ale USA 4.9% Codex
Ocha Reales Ale MX 5.0% 355 Codex
Poppyland Freshers Creek UK
Poppyland Poppyland Harvest UK Ale
Poppyland Rhino Rye IPA UK IPA
Poppyland Saison Alexanders UK
Poppyland Ten Thousand Geese UK Dark
Riedenburger Gluten frei DE Lager
Schnitzer Brau Hirse Pils DE Lager NGCI
Schnitzer Brau Hirse-Lemon Pils DE Lager NGCI
St Peters Dark G-Free UK Dark
St Peters G-Free UK Ale
Stadtbrauerei Spalt Bio Buchweizen DE NGCI
Steadfast Beer Co Sorghum Pale Ale USA Pale
Stringers Outlook Amber UK Codex
Stringers Outlook Dark UK Codex
Stringers Outlook Golden UK Codex
Tennent’s Gluten Free 1885 Lager UK Lager 5.0% 330
To Øl Mikropolis Pils DK Lager 7.0% 330
To Øl Reparationsbajer DK Pale 5.8% 330
Van Bulck GF Organic Lager BE Lager
Westerham Brewery Audit Ale UK Ale 6.2% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Bohemian Rhapsody UK Lager 5.0% 330 Codex
Westerham Brewery British Bulldog UK Bitter 5.5% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Double Stout UK Dark Codex
Westerham Brewery Hop Rocket IPA UK IPA Codex
Westerham Brewery Scotney Bitter UK Bitter 4.3% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Scotney Pale Ale UK Pale 4.0% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Viceroy IPA UK IPA 5.0% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery William Wilberforce Freedom Ale UK Ale 4.8% 500 Codex
Widmer Omission GF Lager USA Lager 4.6% 330
Widmer Omission GF Pale Ale USA Pale 5.8% 330
Wold Top Against the Grain UK Bitter 4.5% 500 Codex
Wold Top Marmalade Porter UK Dark 5.0% 500 Codex
Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA UK IPA 6.0% 500 Codex
Zatecky pivovar Celia Dark CZ Lager 5.7% 330
Zatecky pivovar Celia Pils CZ Lager 4.5% 330
Beer list updated on February 19, 2016

Did we miss any? Let us know in the comments.

Gluten-Free Alcoholic Mixed Drinks

  • Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders
  • Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix
  • Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
  • Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
  • Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix
  • Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut
  • TGI Friday’s Brand: On The Rocks, Margarita, Pina Colada, Long Island Ice Tea, Mudslide and Strawberry Daiquiri.
  • TGI Friday’s Club Cocktails including: Screwdriver, Gin Martini, Vodka Martini,Manhattan and Whiskey Sour mix.

Is distilled alcohol safe for people with celiac disease?

The general consensus on this is that people affected with celiac disease can drink distilled alcohol. Interestingly, they can drink alcohol that has been made using gluten grains! Distillation is a process that removes gluten molecules.

Recently, The National Institutes of Health’s Celiac Disease Awareness Campaign established this fact. As per this campaign, drinking distilled alcohol was safe for people affected with celiac disease.

Prolamins – protein molecules of gluten are distilled from hard liquor products. The distillation process nullifies these protein molecules from beers made of barley or whiskies made of rye.

But there are several other health watchdogs that do not agree with this fact. They feel that people who have high gluten intolerance should completely stay away from barley or rye based alcohol products. Instead, it has been recommended that people with celiac disease try potato-based liquor products. Many rum, vodka, and tequila product manufacturers use potato as the core ingredient in their alcohol products.

Tips to choose gluten free alcoholic beverages

Start by researching on beer product manufacturers that make gluten free beer products. They use alternatives such as corn and buckwheat to name a few. Don’t buy a product without reviewing the packaging details.

Join the Gluten Intolerance Group. Visit their website. You can find loads of information on gluten free restaurants, foods and beers. You may even visit their seminars to understand a lot of things about being gluten free.

Liquor manufacturers follow a rigorous distillation process that removes all traces of gluten peptides. Most distilled hard liquors are gluten free. However it is still not sure if some distilled whiskey brands are gluten free.

You have to understand if non-alcoholic mixes are gluten free as well. When you compliment your vodka with a non-alcoholic mix, you have to understand if this is gluten free. Check the labels on these mixes. See if you find a gluten free label on the packaging. Stick to non-alcoholic mixes that have traditionally been gluten free. Ask people around you to help you with more information.

Wine is totally gluten free, because the core constituent of wine is grapes. And grapes have no gluten in them. In some rare cases, wine can have gluten. This depends on where the wine manufacturers store the wine. If it was stored in a container that previously stored gluten-containing products, then the wine may pick up some gluten traces.

It is not possible to determine the type of containment process wine manufacturers have. But you can surely read about how they make, store, and distribute wine. Some wine manufacturers provide this information as part of the product literature.

Benefits of a gluten free lifestyle

Going gluten free is more than just a trend. You see so many celebrities going on a gluten free lifestyle, even if they don’t have celiac disease. The following are some of the benefits of a gluten free lifestyle.

You feel more energetic and feel better

Probably it’s just perception or a matter of subjective preference. Many people felt better after going gluten free. Could it because of the gluten free foods or the non-presence of gluten?

You cut out junk food

Some gluten free foods can be junk foods. But most gluten free foods can be organic as well. So by going the gluten free way you can eat more healthy food. You get a variety of gluten free foods that are nutritious.

You can still eat out

There are many fast food chains and restaurants that serve gluten free food. You can get information about such places to eat on the Internet. You may also contact your local telephone index to get more information. The Gluten Intolerance Group provides more information on such hotels and restaurants. Visit their website to know more.

Conclusion

Going gluten free does have its benefits. But not all gluten free foods and alcoholic beverages are good for health. For best results, consult a qualified nutritionist or a dietician to know more.