What Alcohol Can I Drink Now That I Am Gluten-Free?

Gluten Free AlcoholNow that you are gluten free, you don’t have to cut out alcohol. Being gluten free means you are excluding gluten – a starchy protein, from your diet. Gluten is found in wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten has many applications. It is used as a thickening agent. Many cosmetic brands have this substance in their constitution. Confectionery products use gluten to enable them to add artificial coloring and preservatives.

There are many types of alcohol that you can drink when you are on a gluten free diet. But yes, you have to stay away from beers that have been manufactured using barley. There are many rye whiskey brands that you ought to avoid. Male beverages are a complete no-no.

Alcohols that advertise as distilled spirits may contain gluten. Ensure you read the fine print before committing yourself to drinking such distilled spirits.

Hard liquor which is gluten free

Gin, rum, and tequila have a distillation process that completely filters out gluten. This process is followed in the preparation of vodka too. So it can be conclusively said that these types of hard liquors are completely devoid of gluten.

If you love Scotch whiskey, you can continue to love it. Because Scotch does not have gluten. Bourbon lovers need not worry as well. This type of liquor has no traces of gluten.

Other Confirmed Gluten-Free Spirits

  • Brandy
  • Khalua Coffee Liquer
  • Campari
  • Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
  • Old Deadly Cider
  • Champagne
  • Vermouth
  • Cointreau
  • Grappa
  • Midori
  • Prosecco
  • Cognac
  • Sambuca


When it comes to wine red or white, you don’t even need to go gluten free shopping for wine products. Most wines are gluten free. Champagne, the most popular of them all, is completely free of gluten. Let’s say you like Italian grappa wine. You could be thinking if this is gluten free or not. Yes, it is gluten free. And joyfully so!

Ok, ok you wine drinkers, you don’t get off completely scott free. Sometimes in the wine making process a manufacturer may use a flour or wheat paste as a seal for their oak barrels for the aging process. This process normally does not produce wine that contains 20 ppm, however when it comes to someone with a high intolerance to gluten, for instance Celiac Disease, this may be a problem. If you are at all concerned on whether this process is used, do not hesitate to call your favorite wine manufacturer to assure yourself.



Some beer products don’t use barley. They use rice, corn, and buckwheat instead. Some others use sorghum in their beer products in addition to having all the aforementioned ingredients. Beer product manufacturers do label their products as gluten free. And if a beer does not have this label, it is a strong indication that it is made of barley. Your safest bet would actually be to brew your own gluten-free beer. Here is a book with 75 recipes to make you own.

According to popular forums, here are some great tasting gluten-free beers:


Brewery Beer Country Type Strength Volume (ml) Gluten
Allendale GFPA UK Pale 4.7% 500 NGCI
Ambar Ambar ES Lager
Ambar Ambar Green ES AF Codex
Anheuser-Busch Redbridge USA NGCI
Bard’s Tale Beer Co Bard’s USA Lager 4.6% NGCI
Brewdog Vagabond Pale Ale UK Pale 4.5% 330
Brunehaut Ambree / Daas Ambre BE Amber
Brunehaut Blanche / Daas Witte BE Blonde
Brunehaut Blonde / Daas Blonde BE Blonde
Brunehaut Triple BE
Carlsberg Saxon FI Lager
Estrella Damm Daura / Apta Para Celiacos ES Lager Codex
First Chop Brewing Ava UK Blonde 3.5% 500
First Chop Brewing Doc UK Pale 4.1% 500
First Chop Brewing Extra Love (Mango) UK Fruit 4.0% 500
First Chop Brewing FCB UK Pale 3.6% 500
First Chop Brewing Hop UK Pale
First Chop Brewing The Chop UK Amber 3.9% 500
Glebe Farm Night Mission / Pathfinder UK Ale
Glebe Farm Wellington Bomber Porter UK Dark
Green’s Amber UK Amber Codex
Green’s Blonde UK Blonde Codex
Green’s Dark Ale UK Dark Codex
Green’s Discovery UK NGCI
Green’s Dry Hopped Lager UK Lager Codex
Green’s India Pale Ale UK IPA Codex
Green’s Premium Pilsner UK Lager Codex
Green’s Supreme Golden Ale UK Ale Codex
Grisette Blonde BE Blonde
Hambleton Ales GFA UK Ale
Hambleton Ales GFL UK Lager
Hepworth Blonde UK 5.0% 500
Hepworth Iron Horse UK 4.8% 500
Hepworth Saxon Lager UK 4.0% 330
Hop Back Crop Circle UK Ale 4.2% 500
Kennet and Avon Savernake Stout UK Stout 5.3% 330
Liebharts Bio-Reis-Dunkel DE Dark NGCI
Liebharts Bio-Reis-Gold DE Lager NGCI
Mikkeller I Wish IPA DK IPA
Mongozo Buckwheat White BE White 4.8% 330 Codex
Mongozo Premium Pilsner BE Lager 5.0% 330 Codex
Monty’s Brewery Masquerade UK Bitter Codex
Neumarkter Lammsbrau Gluteinfrei DE Lager
Neumarkter Lammsbrau Gluteinfrei Alcoholfrei DE AF
Neuzeller Kloster-Brau Lebensfreunde DE 5.0%
New Planet Brewery Belgian Ale USA 5.3% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Blonde Ale USA 5.0% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Pale Ale USA 5.6% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Raspberry Ale USA Fruit 5.0% NGCI
New Planet Brewery Seclusion USA 4.9% Codex
New Planet Brewery Tread Lightly Ale USA 4.9% Codex
Ocha Reales Ale MX 5.0% 355 Codex
Poppyland Freshers Creek UK
Poppyland Poppyland Harvest UK Ale
Poppyland Rhino Rye IPA UK IPA
Poppyland Saison Alexanders UK
Poppyland Ten Thousand Geese UK Dark
Riedenburger Gluten frei DE Lager
Schnitzer Brau Hirse Pils DE Lager NGCI
Schnitzer Brau Hirse-Lemon Pils DE Lager NGCI
St Peters Dark G-Free UK Dark
St Peters G-Free UK Ale
Stadtbrauerei Spalt Bio Buchweizen DE NGCI
Steadfast Beer Co Sorghum Pale Ale USA Pale
Stringers Outlook Amber UK Codex
Stringers Outlook Dark UK Codex
Stringers Outlook Golden UK Codex
Tennent’s Gluten Free 1885 Lager UK Lager 5.0% 330
To Øl Mikropolis Pils DK Lager 7.0% 330
To Øl Reparationsbajer DK Pale 5.8% 330
Van Bulck GF Organic Lager BE Lager
Westerham Brewery Audit Ale UK Ale 6.2% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Bohemian Rhapsody UK Lager 5.0% 330 Codex
Westerham Brewery British Bulldog UK Bitter 5.5% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Double Stout UK Dark Codex
Westerham Brewery Hop Rocket IPA UK IPA Codex
Westerham Brewery Scotney Bitter UK Bitter 4.3% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Scotney Pale Ale UK Pale 4.0% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery Viceroy IPA UK IPA 5.0% 500 Codex
Westerham Brewery William Wilberforce Freedom Ale UK Ale 4.8% 500 Codex
Widmer Omission GF Lager USA Lager 4.6% 330
Widmer Omission GF Pale Ale USA Pale 5.8% 330
Wold Top Against the Grain UK Bitter 4.5% 500 Codex
Wold Top Marmalade Porter UK Dark 5.0% 500 Codex
Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA UK IPA 6.0% 500 Codex
Zatecky pivovar Celia Dark CZ Lager 5.7% 330
Zatecky pivovar Celia Pils CZ Lager 4.5% 330
Beer list updated on February 19, 2016

Did we miss any? Let us know in the comments.

Gluten-Free Alcoholic Mixed Drinks

  • Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders
  • Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix
  • Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
  • Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
  • Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix
  • Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut
  • TGI Friday’s Brand: On The Rocks, Margarita, Pina Colada, Long Island Ice Tea, Mudslide and Strawberry Daiquiri.
  • TGI Friday’s Club Cocktails including: Screwdriver, Gin Martini, Vodka Martini,Manhattan and Whiskey Sour mix.

Is distilled alcohol safe for people with celiac disease?

The general consensus on this is that people affected with celiac disease can drink distilled alcohol. Interestingly, they can drink alcohol that has been made using gluten grains! Distillation is a process that removes gluten molecules.

Recently, The National Institutes of Health’s Celiac Disease Awareness Campaign established this fact. As per this campaign, drinking distilled alcohol was safe for people affected with celiac disease.

Prolamins – protein molecules of gluten are distilled from hard liquor products. The distillation process nullifies these protein molecules from beers made of barley or whiskies made of rye.

But there are several other health watchdogs that do not agree with this fact. They feel that people who have high gluten intolerance should completely stay away from barley or rye based alcohol products. Instead, it has been recommended that people with celiac disease try potato-based liquor products. Many rum, vodka, and tequila product manufacturers use potato as the core ingredient in their alcohol products.

Tips to choose gluten free alcoholic beverages

Start by researching on beer product manufacturers that make gluten free beer products. They use alternatives such as corn and buckwheat to name a few. Don’t buy a product without reviewing the packaging details.

Join the Gluten Intolerance Group. Visit their website. You can find loads of information on gluten free restaurants, foods and beers. You may even visit their seminars to understand a lot of things about being gluten free.

Liquor manufacturers follow a rigorous distillation process that removes all traces of gluten peptides. Most distilled hard liquors are gluten free. However it is still not sure if some distilled whiskey brands are gluten free.

You have to understand if non-alcoholic mixes are gluten free as well. When you compliment your vodka with a non-alcoholic mix, you have to understand if this is gluten free. Check the labels on these mixes. See if you find a gluten free label on the packaging. Stick to non-alcoholic mixes that have traditionally been gluten free. Ask people around you to help you with more information.

Wine is totally gluten free, because the core constituent of wine is grapes. And grapes have no gluten in them. In some rare cases, wine can have gluten. This depends on where the wine manufacturers store the wine. If it was stored in a container that previously stored gluten-containing products, then the wine may pick up some gluten traces.

It is not possible to determine the type of containment process wine manufacturers have. But you can surely read about how they make, store, and distribute wine. Some wine manufacturers provide this information as part of the product literature.

Benefits of a gluten free lifestyle

Going gluten free is more than just a trend. You see so many celebrities going on a gluten free lifestyle, even if they don’t have celiac disease. The following are some of the benefits of a gluten free lifestyle.

You feel more energetic and feel better

Probably it’s just perception or a matter of subjective preference. Many people felt better after going gluten free. Could it because of the gluten free foods or the non-presence of gluten?

You cut out junk food

Some gluten free foods can be junk foods. But most gluten free foods can be organic as well. So by going the gluten free way you can eat more healthy food. You get a variety of gluten free foods that are nutritious.

You can still eat out

There are many fast food chains and restaurants that serve gluten free food. You can get information about such places to eat on the Internet. You may also contact your local telephone index to get more information. The Gluten Intolerance Group provides more information on such hotels and restaurants. Visit their website to know more.


Going gluten free does have its benefits. But not all gluten free foods and alcoholic beverages are good for health. For best results, consult a qualified nutritionist or a dietician to know more.


49 thoughts on “What Alcohol Can I Drink Now That I Am Gluten-Free?”

  1. The best gluten-free beer out there is actually Omission Pale Ale. It’s relatively new but I’ve seen it available in CA, OR, and FL, among others.

    1. I agree, Omission is a good gluten-free beer. Cheesie Bob’s Bleu cheese House, located in King Wi. also has it along with other gluten_free beers.

  2. I thought Omission (pale ale and the lager) were pretty good, but personally I like Greens a little bit more and of course Estrella Damm by Duara. Like Omission, Estrella is a reduced gluten-free beer, meaning it contains 20 ppm or less of gluten and can be labeled as gluten-free. What’s great about gluten reduced beers is that they still contain traditional ingredients such as barely. Its the process they go through which eliminates the gluten and preserving those flavors we love in beer.

  3. •Armagnac – made from grapes.
    •Beer – A number of premium and craft brewers now produce specialty grain gluten-free beers using non-gluten ingredients such as buckwheat, sorghum, rice, corn, etc. Not all the beers listed below use specialty grains, and some of them have had the gluten removed using special filters and/or enzymes, and in such cases they may not be 100% gluten-free (although each claims to test below 20 PPM gluten).

    ◦Against the Grain, World Top Brewery (United Kingdom)
    ◦Bards Tale Dragons Gold, Bard’s Tale Beer Company (USA)
    ◦BeerUp Glutenfrei, Grieskirchen (Austria)
    ◦Birra 76 Bi-Aglut, Heineken Italy (Italy)
    ◦Blonde (also Ginger and Apple Beers), Billabong Brewing (Australia)
    ◦Daura, Estrella Damm (Spain)
    ◦G-Free, St. Peter’s Brewery (United Kingdom)
    ◦Green’s Endeavour Dubble, Green’s (United Kingdom)
    ◦Koff I, Sinebrychoff (Finland)
    ◦Lammsbräu, Neumarkter (Germany)
    ◦Messagère, Les bières de la Nouvelle-France (Canada)
    ◦Mongozo’s exotic flavorded pilsners (The Netherlands)
    ◦New Grist, Lakefront Brewery (USA)
    ◦Nodogoshi, Kirin (Japan)
    ◦O’Brien Brown Ale, O’Brien Brewery (Australia)
    ◦Passover Honey Beer, Ramapo Valley (USA)
    ◦RedBridge, Anheuser-Busch (USA)
    ◦Residenz Bio-Reis-Gold Dunkel, Liebharts (Germany)
    ◦Schnitzer Bräu (Germany)
    ◦Sorghum Molasses Brown, Outer Banks (USA)
    ◦Toleration, Hambleton (United Kingdom)
    ◦Tread Lightly Ale and 3R Raspberry Ale, New Planet (USA)
    ◦Tumma Kukko, Laitilan (Finland)

    •Bourbon – Makers Mark
    •Cider – fermented from apples or other fruits. Some are safe, however, many add barley for enzymes and flavor.
    ◦Old Deadly Cider
    •Cognac – made from grapes.
    •Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
    •Margarita Mix:
    ◦Jose Cuervo.
    ◦Mr. & Mrs. T.
    ◦Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape).
    ◦Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape).
    •Mead – distilled from honey.
    ◦Jose Cuervo Mistico (agave and cane).
    •Mixes & Cooking Alcohol:
    ◦Club Tom Collins (corn).
    ◦Dimond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery.
    ◦Holland House – all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes.
    ◦Mr. & Mrs. T – all Except Bloody Mary Mix.
    ◦Spice Islands – Cooking Wines – Burgundy, Sherry and White.
    •Ouzo – made from grapes and anise.
    •Sake – fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.
    •Scotch Whiskey
    •Sparkling Wine
    •Vermouth – distilled from grapes.
    •Wine – all wines, including port wines and sherry, are safe for celiacs.
    •Wine Coolers:
    ◦Bartle & James – their wine-based beverages (EXCEPT their malt beverages – read the label carefully!).
    ◦Boones – their wine-based beverages (EXCEPT their malt beverages – read the label carefully!)

    1. Hi all, we have recently discovered that there is actually gluten containing substances introduced into the wine making process by many wine makers. Oak barrels that the wine is aged in are often sealed with a paste that contains gluten, and in other cases there is a gluten product used to fine the wine as well! So if you seem to have a reaction to wine, this could be why. Don’t assume wine is GF if you are really sensitive.

  4. Gluten is the composite of a gliadin and a glutenin, which is conjoined with starch in the endosperm of various grass-related grains. The prolamin and glutelin from wheat (gliadin, which is alcohol-soluble, and glutenin, which is only soluble in dilute acids or alkalis) constitute about 80% of the protein contained in wheat fruit. Being insoluble in water, they can be purified by washing away the associated starch. Worldwide, gluten is a source of protein, both in foods prepared directly from sources containing it, and as an additive to foods otherwise low in protein.

  5. Check out this new gluten free alcoholic beverage — low carb, 100% gluten free with a crisp refreshing citrus taste.. and 6% alcohol. Essentially, half the sugar of Bud Light with higher ABV%. Spiked Seltzer

  6. Eliminating all alcohol except Red Wine has been the best choice for me to live a gluten free lifestyle. This removes the stress for me. Your suggestion to look at all labels prior is very good advice. Thanks for your detailed list, it is appreciated. Best Regards, Wendy

  7. Be careful with these blanket statements. Some whiskey barrels are sealed with wheat paste. Rendering their contents very glutenous.

  8. If you’re lucky enough to live in Illinois, you can get Two Brothers Prairie Path, crafted to eliminate gluten. I drank it BEFORE I was forced to go gluten-free because it’s great tasting beer. Now I’m thrilled to have SOMETHING that tastes like the great beers I used to be able to drink.
    Estrella Dam Daura is also good tasting, more like a European style beer, and the Omissions (IPA, & pale ale) referred to above also taste like the real thing, not like a funny tasting (sorghum) or citrusy tasting carbonated beverage.

  9. Just found out some wines are stored in oak containers that are sealed with wheat paste! Need to beware of Wines made by Constellation! There are a lot of brands made by them! I got very sick on one gulp of wine!

    1. Probably some of them but it would be surprising if it were all.
      from Constellations website:
      We operate more than 40 facilities around the world.

      Wines are produced according to the type, and some, like unoaked chardonnay is aged in stainless.

  10. Looking for a gluten free low carbohydrate beer. Anyone?? I saw someone wrote Spiked Seltzer. What is that and where can I find?

  11. If you live in the Twin Cities, MN, metro area, you have access to one of, if not THE best, gluten-free beers ever made: Burning Brothers Pyro. For those in other states, keep your fingers crossed for more widespread future distribution.

    1. I was literally just about to comment this. Wtf is a ‘male beverage’? Why are we gendering drinks now lmao stop

  12. This information is not entirely right since there is a lot of wines to be worried about. Most of them are aged in oak barrels. The culprit will be the wheat paste used to seal the wooden wine casks used to age the wine. So you have to call the companies to know wich of there wines are aged in other sorts of barrels free of the wheat paste.

  13. Redbridge is good, however rather weak in the flavor dept. O’Mission is good as well. I’m pretty sure all ciders are Gluten free, except Reds apple Ale( notice the Ale in title) Good luck!

  14. Very false. Many hard liquors including bourbon are not gluten free. Many grains involved and distillation does not remove it. Titos vodka claims gluten free and it isn’t. Investigate this further

  15. Good quality tequila is made ONLY from the blue agave plant which is completely gluten free. If the label says “100% Blue Agave” it’s 100% gluten free.

  16. sorry, but many Scotch, whiskey, wine, and other alcohol beverages, are supposed to have gluten distilled out of it, but in reality, some have enough wheat, barley, rye or gluten in them to cause sever reactions in people with Dermatitis Herpataformis. It’s because of misinformation on pages like this, that my husband was not able to find what was causing his outbreaks for many months. A disclaimer would be nice.

    1. hi, i have finally admitted to this very issue and have stopped drinking most whiskeys. I look forward to getting rid of the pesky rash I have been blaming on the dry winter and the laundry detergent. I had a difficult time because I LOVE bourbon. so rats. I have found online and will try sorghum whiskey and 100% corn whiskey.

  17. Not all red wine is gluten free because they use floured sieves to filter wine. White wines don’t use this process. Also if you remove the protein from the alcoholic triple distilled items made with wheat, barley and rye such as whiskey and vodka etc you are left with water so you are literally dumping gluten into your body on your intestines, triple distilled or not. So make sure you chose vodka made with grapes or potatoes or corn unless of course you have a sensitivity to those things too. Don’t believe what they wrote above and research a more reputable source.

  18. I have suffered for 20 plus years on and off of cramps , nausea gut, and more lately bowels that empty nearly after any meal so I don’t eat.
    I decided to try gluten free as my father in law also suffered for years and it helped him.
    I am just find it so unpleasant that I can be fine one minute and the next stomach aches and nausea feeling.
    Hot packs help and rest as makes me feel worst standing up.
    Also not going out last minute due to feeling awful or declining invites in case I don’t feel well.
    Tonight tried to doing some cooking for my mums 80 th birthday this weekend but have stopped due to feeling nauseated and feeling faint from standing.
    I love my champagne and wine so any tips to any way to start and what brands of champagne (French if possible) that could be safe.

  19. Actually, more often than not, wine has plenty of gluten to make you very very sick. Wine brewed in oak barrels is often smeared with wheat paste. Look for wine that is brewed in stainless steal, or wine that says “unoaked” on the label. I’ll be sick for weeks if I drink the wrong wine. Please update your website!

  20. Be careful some of these beers (including Omission) are brewed with gluten containing ingredients and CANNOT be labeled gluten free in the US. They are labeled “crafted to remove gluten” since most of the gluten is removed after brewing. Some people have reactions, others not.

  21. you are not intelligent enough to be writing an article like this.
    its due to people like you that make the internet a bad place to try to learn something.
    for some people, consuming gluten is detrimental to their health in small amounts such as people with Celiacs disease or some cases of Irritable bowel syndrome….but of course its evident you dont know this so please stop writing and do your research.

  22. Depending on your level of sensitivity, you can drink Heineken and Corona. I generally track http://gluteninbeer.blogspot.com/ as they test beers (these are not large sample sizes, and are not the best testing conditions though so proceed at your own risk with caution). Also another option is brewing yourself. Personally I love dark beers / stouts / porters, and there are few labeled-as-gluten-free dark beers (Steadfast Oatmeal Cream Stout, Ground Breaker Dark Ale (my favorite), Burning Brothers Coffee Ale, Harvester Dark Ale, Green’s Dark Ale); however brewing your own gluten-free dark beer is relatively easy and fun (recipe e.g.: http://www.glutenfreehomebrewing.org/recipes/showrecipe.php?recipeid=63).

    1. I’m sorry, brainfart, heineken is definitely NOT safe gluten content wise, I meant to say Kirin Heartland (in my head Heartland reminded me to NOT drink Heineken, and that squeezed it’s way into my typing, all Freudian like =P). Please edit my original comment accordingly if possible. There is no edit capability and I didn’t read/edit before submitting (my fault).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *