Why Should You Buy Gluten-Free Soy Sauce?

People have become a lot more concerned about their diet in the past few years. Different kinds of diseases along with obesity have forced people to become conscious about their health. You might have come across the term gluten-free which is used in the labels of a number of food products.

If you do not know the actual meaning of the term then you need to understand it to decide whether you require gluten-free foods or not. Gluten is actually a protein complex that can be found in barley, wheat, triticale and rye.

A person needs to take up a gluten free diet when he is suffering from celiac disease. If you suffer from this condition then you surely need to take up gluten-free food. People who follow this kind of a diet might be shocked to find out that soy sauce is not actually gluten-free.

In most of the cases you might find that the leading brands use wheat as one of the first ingredients. But before that you need to understand when you should buy gluten-free soy sauce. Celiac disease is a type of chronic disease in which people suffer from inflammatory disorder especially in the small intestine.

This conditioned is triggered when a person takes a certain kind of protein which is known as gluten. If you love to have soy sauce in your food but you suffer from celiac disorder then you surely need to find a brand which offers the best quality gluten-free soy sauce.

The problem with the disease is that it cannot be cured and hence it needs to be managed by the right diet. The patients need to avoid all kinds of food that have gluten in them.

How is Gluten-free Soy Sauce Made?

You do not need to worry much because you can find some natural brewed sauce that is gluten-free. You need to look for the brands that follow the traditional methods of soy sauce making without the use of wheat.

This type of soy sauce production is known as tamari. To search for gluten-free soy sauce you need to perform a little research. Soy sauce is mostly required in Korean food. Soy sauce is extremely important for the marinating purpose for preparing Korean food.

As you perform a good research regarding gluten-free soy sauce you will come across brands which ferment the soy sauce naturally. There are actually two different ways which are used to ferment the soy sauce. The first method is natural.

On the other hand the second method uses chemical hydrolysis. In both these methods the complex protein in the form of gluten is actually broken down into smaller components which then become polypeptides and amino acids.

There are companies which follow the standards set by certain bodies of including gluten in soy sauce. According to the standards the gluten content should be well below 20ppm so that the product can be declared to be gluten-free.

Some of the brands that claim to sell gluten-free soy sauce usually have a limit of 5ppm gluten content which is quite below the range. If you still want to be safe then buying tamari sauce is the best possible way out to avoid the intake of gluten completely.

How to Recognize Gluten-free Soy Sauce

It becomes quite difficult to take the right decision regarding which gluten-free soy sauce to buy as there are so many brands available in the market these days. If you are confused then you surely have a way out to this problem.

One of the best ways is to compare the ingredients present in the soy sauce. If you are looking for gluten-free soy sauce you should go through the labels of the major brands that claim to produce the gluten-free soy sauce.

For reading the labels you always do not need to purchase the sauce. You can find the labels on the internet. Internet has a number of stores from which you can buy the soy sauce. You can even save some time by doing this.

But if you are not satisfied regarding the labels available on the internet then you can go to the shops which sell gluten-free soy sauce brands. You can then personally read the labels and find out whether the brand has used wheat for the fermentation of the sauce.

There are at least 7 to 8 popular brands that produce gluten-free soy sauce these days. You can go through the reviews written regarding these various brands to choose the best of the lot. You will find in the reviews that there are certain brands which are not recommended by the experts.

There are soy sauce brands which do not mention gluten products in their labels but lots of people have had a number of problems after having the sauce. You should find a brand which uses soybeans, water, vinegar and salt.

It is always a better option to buy a sauce which is allowed to age for at least one year before they are put into the bottles. There are certain brands which use rice instead of wheat to brew. You should also try to purchase soy sauce that is preservative free.

2 thoughts on “Why Should You Buy Gluten-Free Soy Sauce?”

  1. I could be wrong but I believe the information usually says 1ppm is 1mg(gluten) per Liter (soy sauce), so 1L of soy sauce contains less than 5 mg of gluten. That would mean you would be okay with even an entire bottle of soy sauce a day right?

    1. You are correct, however I have no idea why you would want an entire bottle of soy sauce. I realize this is a joke but if it’s not you might want to cut down a bit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *